Formula E 2015/2016 calendar: Mexico City and Paris instead Miami and Monaco

  • FIA Formula E

The formula E calendar for the 2nd season (2015/2016) will be revealed next week after the meeting of the World Motor Sport Council on July 10 in Mexico City. Unofficial information has revealed that the Mexican capital will be one of the two new venues in calendar.

The second new town on the list will be Paris. If the calendar continues to have 11 events with 12 races it means that two towns will turn out. Miami will be dropped because there was another event in the USA (Long Beach) and Monaco will be out because of a plan for bi-annual races there.

If the provisional calendar will be confirmed, the season will start one month later than it did in the inaugural season, on October 17 in Beijing, China. The series then travels to Putrajaya, Malaysia (November 21) and Punta del Este, Uruguay (December 12) as in the first season. The fourth race will be at Buenos Aires, Argentina in February 2016. In the same month, Mexico City will host the fifth round.  After the race at Long Beach, the competition will move to Europe, with races in Paris, Berlin, Moscow and two races in London.

Ten teams have been confirmed for the Formula E 2015/2016 season. Generally the teams are the same, but some of them have changed the names (or will be changing) according to new sponsors and partnerships. As we already wrote Virgin Racing become DS Virgin Racing. Audi Sport ABT will be renamed to ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport. Team Aguri lost Amlin as sponsor and are looking for some other partner.

Related Posts