Global Rallycross Championship: Foust and Eriksson winners at Daytona

Last weekend two major rallycross events were  held – World Rallycross Championship at Estering in Germany and Global Rallycross Championship at Daytona Speedway in USA. As we reported, winner of World RX event was Davy Jeanney, while GRC winners were Tanner Foust and Sebastian Eriksson.


Two-time Global Rallycross champion Tanner Foust scored the victory in Saturday’s main event at Daytona International Speedway. Foust beat Bryan Herta Rallysport’s Austin Dyne and Red Bull Olsbergs MSE’s Sebastian Eriksson, who finished in second and third place. Foust gave the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Beetle its first win, against Ford Fiestas of all other drivers in final race.




After contact between front row starters Patrik Sandell and Ken Block led to a major incident heading into the dirt section on the first lap, Foust—who had started from the second row in the main event—seized the opportunity to get around the competition. Austin Dyne and Joni Wiman were behind him. They maintained those positions through most of the race, until Eriksson took the joker to get by Wiman in the final corner.


Next day Swedish driver Sebastian Eriksson was most successsful. He took the first victory of his GRC career in Sunday’s main event, ahead Ken Block and Steve Arpin. After taking the Joker Lap immediately at the start of the race, Eriksson took a lead that he would not yield for the duration of the eight-lap final.


Eriksson also took the GRC points lead by eight points over Block. Next event of Global Rallycross Championship is scheduled for 5th July at military base Camp Lejeune-New River.

Related Posts