24 Hours of Daytona: Back-to-back victory for WTR's #10

  • Wayne Taylor Racing #10 Cadillac
  • Wayne Taylor Racing #10 Cadllac

Wayne Taylor Racing’s Renger van der Zande, Kamui Kobayashi, Ryan Briscoe, and Scott Dixon are the winners of the Rolex 24 at Daytona, the opening round of the 2020 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

After 24 hours of racing in the #10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R, the international crew from the Netherlands, Japan, Australia and New Zealand completed 833 laps, setting the all-time distance record in the greatest North American endurance race.

For Kobayashi and Van der Zande, it’s the second Daytona victory in a row. Last year, they were sharing the #10 car with Fernando Alonso and Jordan Taylor. This time, they were joined by new WTR’s full-time driver Ryan Briscoe and five-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon, who recorded his third overall victory at Daytona’s 24-hour race.

2020 Rolex 24 at Daytona Victory Lane

The #10 Cadillac in the Victory Lane

Mazda Team Joest’s #77 Mazda RT24-P crossed the finish line in the second place, 65 seconds behind the winning car, driven by Oliver Jarvis. His teammates were Olivier Pla and Tristan Nunez. The third place went to Loic Duval, Joao Barbosa and Sebastien Bourdais in the #5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac of JDC-Millers Motorsports.

The first three cars completed 833 laps, five more than reigning IMSA champions Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya in the #6 Acura Team Penske’s Acura ARX-05. The third driver in the #6 car was Simon Pagenaud.

Ninth overall and the winners in the LMP2 class were Ben Hanley, Colin Braun, Henrik Hedman and Harrison Newey in the #81 DragonSpeed Oreca. They defeated by two laps the closest rivals in the #52 Oreca of PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports.

#24 BMW M8 GTE

The #24 BMW M8 GTE gave the second victory in a row to BMW Team RLL

The closest battle we saw in the GTLM class, with BMW Team RLL’s #24 BMW M8 GTE defeating the #912 Porsche 911 RSR by just 14 seconds. The drivers of the victorious BMW were Jesse Krohn, John Edwards, Augusto Farfus and Chaz Mostert. Augusto Farfus was also the winner last year in the #25 BMW.

Two Porsche GT Team crews completed the GTLM podium. The drivers of the #912 Porsche were Earl Bamber, Laurens Vanthoor and Mathieu Jaminet while the #911 Porsche was driven by Nick Tandy, Matt Campbell and Frederic Makowiecki.

Victorious Lamborghini Huracan GT3 of Paul Miller Racing

Two Lamborghini Huracans were fighting for the victory in the GTD class. In the end, the victory went to the #48 crew of Paul Miller Racing. The drivers were Italian Andrea Caldarelli ad three Americans Corey Lewis, Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow.

The #44 GRT Magnus Lamborghini crossed the finish line 21.908 seconds later, driven by another Italian Marco Mapelli. His teammates were Americans Andy Lally, Spencer Pumpelly and John Potter.

Check the full results of the Rolex 24 at Daytona

Photos: Wayne Taylor Racing, BMW Motorsport,

Related Posts