Jeroen Bleekemolen and Kevin Ceccon are the latest EGT Championship entrants

December 15, 2016
Marijan Malcevic

  • Jeroen Bleekemolen, Kevin Ceccon, Electric GT Championship

Jeroen Bleekemolen and Kevin Ceccon are the latest entrants confirmed for the inaugural season of the Electric GT Championship in 2017. They joined the line-up of already annouced eight drivers who will participate in the world’s first all-electric GT racing competition. The drivers on the entry list are Stefan Wilson, Vicky Piria, Dani Clos, Leilani Munter, Tom Coronel, Alice Powell, Tom Onslow-Cole and Ricardo Teixeira. As EGT Championship will have twenty drivers in its inaugural season, half of the grid is set so far.

The 35-year-old Dutchman Jeroen Bleekemolen is one of the busiest and most diverse racing drivers on the planet. In 2016, he competed in six 24-hour races on three continents. His stellars career includes wins at Nürburgring 24 Hours, Le Mans 24h, Petit Le Mans, Sebring 12 Hours, back-to-back Porsche Supercup championships and the 2013 American Le Mans Series GTC title. He becomes the second Dutchman to join the series after Coronel, reuniting the pair for the first time since they shared a GT2 Spyker at Le Mans in 2010.

The 23-year-old Italian Kevin Ceccon raced mostly in the single-seater competitions, reaching the GP2 Series as the highest championsship on the ladder. In 2011, he was the Auto GP champion and had an opportunity to test Formula 1 car for Toro Rosso. In 2016, Ceccon recorded only one race with Murphy Prototypes team in the European Le Mans Series.


Related Posts