Renault Sport Trophy: ART Junior Team win Endurance Race at Le Mans

The #2 crew from the ART Junior Team won on the Circuit Bugatti Le Mans in the Endurance race of Renault Sport Trophy. Starting from pole position, Richard Gonda and Andrea Pizzitola led from start to finish to take the win ahead of Pieter Schothorst and Max van Splunteren in Equipe Verschuur #1 Renault Sport R.S.01.


David Fumanelli and Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team #8) finished third. After the race the Dutch crew in the car #1 was disqualified because their fuel cell had less than three required litres of fuel. Their exclusion promoted Fumanelli and Capitanio to second place, so they secured Endurance title one race before the end.




Earlier today Richard Gonda set the best time in qualifying for the Prestige drivers. At the start of the race Gonda made the most of the incident behind him to pull away. With the contact between Dario Capitanio and Niccolò Nalio (Oregon Team #6), Max van Splunteren moved up to second place ahead of Diederik Sijthoff (V8 Racing #5), Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team #7) and Philippe Bourgois (Zele Racing #9). Dario Capitanio was back to third prior to the opening of the driver change window.


The first duo to stop, Richard Gonda handed over to Andrea Pizzitola. The positions remained the same after the driver change window closed, but Pieter Schothorst progressively cut into Andrea Pizzitola’s lead. The Frenchman resisted and kept everything in control to go on for the win ahead of the Dutchman. David Fumanelli finished third ahead of Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing #5) and Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur #10), who overtook Christian Klien (Zele Racing #9) and Alan Hellmeister (Oregon Team #7).


Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.


Photo: Media Renault Sport

Related Posts