Rosberg wins season finale in Abu Dhabi

Nico Rosberg is the winner of the last race in 2015 Formula 1. Mercedes driver won Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit, beating his teammate Lewis Hamilton to claim sixth victory this season.


Start of the race was marked by great start of Nico Rosberg and small accdent at the back of the grid where Pastor Maldonado and Fernando Alonso had a contact, and Lotus driver had to retire. Nico Hulkenberg also had excellent start as he moved up to fifth, while
Valtteri Bottas dropped to tenth.




There wasn’t so much overtaking, but standings were shuffled almost in every lap as teams chose different number of pit stops. But, Rosberg still was on top, six seconds ahead of Hamilton, while two Ferraris were behind them – Raikkonen on third and Vettel on fourth place.


After half of the race Hamilton reduced a gap to his teammate to just 1.5s, so we could expect interesting finish. Raikkonen was 11 s behind Mercedes pair, while the others were almost a minute behind. Champion took a bit longer lead after Nico’s pit, but after Lewis went to the second change of tyres in lap 42, Nico had opened way to victory.




Pity that Mercedes didn’t allowed Hamilton to stay on old tyres and add some spice to the final race of the season, especially knowing Hamilton and Mercedes already clinched titles. Rosberg won the race with a margin of 8.2s, while Raikkonen was third to secure fourth place in the Driver’s championship, ahead of his compatrion Bottas.




Sebastian Vettel finished fourth, Sergio Perez fifth, while Daniel Ricciardo, Nico Hulkenberg, Felipe Massa, Romain Grosjean and Daniil Kvyat also scored points in the final race of the campaign.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!



Related Posts