ADAC GT Masters: Mies and De Phillippi crowned after dramatic season finale

The Land-Motorsport’s Audi drivers Christopher Mies and Connor De Phillippi are the new champions of ADAC GT Masters. It was a really dramatic season finale at Hockenheim. The race was stopped after the huge crash of Jules Gounon and after the restart, the main favorites managed to take the title.

Herberth Motorsport’s #99 Porsche of Martin Ragginger and Robert Renauer had a pole position for the last race of the season. The championship leaders Christopher Mies and Connor De Phillippi in Land-Motorsport’s Audi started from P7, their main rivals, the Callaway Competition’s #77 Corvette of Daniel Keilwitz and Jules Gounon was just in front, while the last title contender, the Team 75 Bernhard’s Porsche #17 of David Jahn and Kevin Estre was on P2.

Unlike on Saturday, the weather conditions were perfect for the deciding race but we had to wait for a while to see something exciting during the first half of the race. Keilwitz managed to move up to the 4th place, while Mies made a huge mistake running wide when he was on the way to the pit.

Video – Jules Gounon’s huge crash at Hockenheim

The real drama has started after the mandatory pit-stop. Jules Gounon had a contact with GRT’ #63 Lambo and crashed horribly into the barriers. The Callaway Competition’s title hopes faded away in the moment when they were at the top of the standings. At the same time, Jahn had to serve a drive-through penalty leaving Land-Motorsport’s #29 Audi with De Phillippi behind the wheel on the way to the title.

What was very bad to see was that Jules Gounon couldn’t leave the car after the crash and the race was stopped 21 minutes before the end. After 15 minutes or so, Gounon was taken out of the damaged Corvette and taken to the medical center. Luckily, he was awake and in stable condition but with the broken left leg.

Land Motorsport Audi

Land Motorsport’s championship winning Audi

The race was restarted under the safety car with 15 minutes to go. Now it was the battle for the title between #17 Porsche and #29 Audi. Team 75 Bernhard needed to win the race with Land-Motorsport not to finish better than 9th place. At the end, De Phillippi took 8th place and secured the title, while Jahn finished 2nd in the race and in the championship, as well. Robert Renauer and Martin Ragginger won the race while Nicolai Sylvest and Nikolaj Rogivue in Team Zakspeed’s Mercedes-AMG were third.

Click for full results of ADAC GT Masters season finale


Related Posts