V8 Supercars Perth Supersprint: Craig Lowndes - the King of Barbagallo

  • Craig Lowndes, Perth Supersprint, Barbagallo Raceway

Craig Lowndes (Team Vortex) catches his 16th victory at Barbagallo Raceway in today’s Perth Supersprint, the eighth round of the 2016 V8 Supercars Championship. Lowndes’ victory is a result of the fantastic pit stop strategy with two changes of tires, compared to just one stop of main rivals, so he was much faster in the second part of the race and dominantly wins ahead of Shane Van Gisbergen  and Jamie Whincup.

Van Gisbergen was leading for most of the race, from lap 2 to lap 47, but in the last three laps he had no chance against Lowndes. Van Gisbergen defended his second place ahead of teammate Jamie Whincup, with Will Davison and two Holden Racing Team drivers, Garth Tander and James Courtney, finishing in positions four to six. Todd Kelly, Chris Pither, Rick Kelly and Tim Slade completed the Top 10.

The rookie Cameron Waters surprisingly took the pole position but he led for just one lap, when Van Gisbergen jumped in front of him. Van Gisbergen lost his lead just once, during lap 19 from Chaz Mostert, but he immediatelly returned in front. Later in the race both Mostert and Waters lost the rhytm with old tires and finished 12th and 13th.

Check the full results of Saturday’s V8 SC race at Barbagallo Raceway

Photos: caltex.com.au,

Related Posts