Frosty wins the tire strategy drama at Barbagallo Raceway

  • Mark Winterbottom, Perth Supersprint, V8 Supercars

The defending V8 Supercars champion Mark Winterbottom (The Bottle-O-Racing Ford) finally takes his first win in the 2016 season. He wins the main race of the Perth Supersprint at Barbagallo Raceway to become eighth winner in nine races of the 2016 V8 Supercars season. Winterbottom crossed the finish line after dramatic 200 kilometres of racing by defending the lead in the close fight against Scott McLaughlin (Wilson Security GRM Volvo) and Craig Lowndes (Team Vortex Holden), who were inside the one second margin.

V8 Supercars, Perth Supersprint, Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin was on two-stop strategy, same as Winterbottom, and he finished second

It was all about tire strategy and tire management. Winterbottom and McLaughlin pitted two times, Lowndes decided for three-pit strategy. In the closing laps Winterbottom’s advantage decreased from ten seconds to less then one second. If there were few more laps he wouldn’t get it, but he obviously managed the tires on his Ford FG X Falcon good enough to earn maiden 2016 win in the 83-lap race.

Red Bull Racing’s Shane Van Gisbergen finished fourth, ahead of best Nissan driver Rick Kelly. Chaz Mostert, who started from pole and pitted three times with his Ford Falcon, finished sixth. Holden Racing Team’s duo Garth Tander and James Courtney took seventh and eighth. Michael Caruso (Nissan) and Will Davison (Tekno Autosports Holden) completed the top 10.

After nine races, Craig Lowndes is a championship leader. He collected 894 points, 42 more than Jamie Whincup. Scott McLaughlin is third, just six points behind Whincup. Mark Winterbottom (816 points) and Shane van Gosbergen (803) completed the top 5.

The next round of the V8 Supercars Championship is Woodstock Winton Supersprint on May 20-22 at Winton Motor Raceway.

Check the full results of the Perth Supersprint


Related Posts