Berlin ePrix: Buemi wins race 2 thanks to Rosenqvist's penalty

  • Sebastien Buemi Renault e.Dams

Felix Rosenqvist missed a great opportunity to score a double victory at the FIA Formula E Championship Berlin ePrix. The Mahindra driver led from the start but due to a 10s penalty he had to settle for the second while Sebastien Buemi was promoted to the top of the podium

After winning the first race at Tempelhof Airport, Felix Rosenqvist confirmed fine form with a pole position for the second race. The championship leader Sebastien Buemi recovered after the poor performance on Saturday and started from P2, while two DS Virgin Racing drivers Jose Maria Lopez and Sam Bird started from the second row.

Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra

Felix Rosenqvist was unlucky in the race 2 of Berlin ePrix

Whilst the standings at the top after the first quarter of the race were unchanged, Nick Heidfeld back on the grid did a fantastic job. He started from the last place but on lap 14 he already was on the 10th! Finally, on lap 18, after the contact between DS Virgin teammates, there were some changes at the top. Bird dropped to the 6th position after being overtaken by Jean-Eric Vergne and Lucas Di Grassi. Soon after Vergne and Di Grassi, as well as Daniel Abt, moved further up after overtaking Pechito Lopez.

Almost nothing has changed after the pit stop. The main change probably was that Heidfeld dropped out of points but at the top everything remained the same. Buemi was very close to Rosenqvist but the Swede received 10s penalty after chaotic pit stop what meant that he won’t win the race. In a meantime, both Audi Abt Schaeffler drivers overtook Vergne, thanks to the FanBoost, to move up to the 3rd and 4th place respectively.

Lucas Di Grassi

Lucas di Grassi finished 3rd on Sunday

At the end, Rosenqvist took the chequered flag but was demoted to the 2nd position due to penalty. Buemi won the race what is his 6th win of the season. The Swiss driver of the Renault e.Dams team secured the lead in the championships ahead of Lucas Di Grassi who finished 3rd today.

Click here for the full results of the Berlin ePrix!

Brooklyn Street Circuit will host the next two rounds of the FIA Formula E Championship on July 15-16.


Related Posts