2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup preview

March 30, 2017
Featured, News
Alexander S

  • 2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup

The 2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup kicks-off in the first weekend of April with a race at Misano World Circuit – Marco Simoncelli.

Seven manufacturers, five rounds

The season of 2016 was quite exciting, so we expect the same of the new campaign. For the season-opening race in Italy, 34 cars of 7 manufacturers will be on the grid and title defenders will be among the starters. Just like in the previous years, only five Sprint Cup rounds will be held, with two races per weekend. The round in Belgium is the new on the calendar, replacing the event at Catalunya Circuit.

2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup calendar

Race 1April 1/2Misano World Circuit, Italy
Race 2May 6/7Brands Hatch, UK
Race 3June 2/4Circuit Zolder, Belgium
Race 4August 25/27Hungaroring, Hungary
Race 5September 15/17Nurburgring, Germany

Enzo Ide and Team WRT will defend their crowns

Belgian driver Enzo Ide will defend its Sprint Cup crown driving the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT’s Audi R8 LMS. His co-driver again will be Christopher Mies from Germany and they are again considered as one of title contenders. Interestingly, Garage 59 team, who did very well last year and triumphed in the Endurance Cup, will miss this season.

Enzo Ide

Enzo Ide celebrates his title in 2016

Dominik Baumann and Maximilian Buhk won the overall Blancpain GT Series title in 2016 but they are separated for the forthcoming season. They both stayed with HTP Motorsport and Mercedes but Buhk in the new season will drive alongside Frenchman Franck Perera, while Baumann will be accompanied with Jimmy Eriksson from Sweden. Rowe Racing with two BMW’s and experienced drivers also will be one to watch.

Teams’ Championship title defender Belgian Audi Club Team WRT together with Team WRT will field no less than five cars in 2017. Strakka Racing and Akka ASP cars also will be well represented with four cars on the grid, while six teams will have only one car in the battle for the Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup title.

2017 Blancpain GT Series cars

Cars are ready for the 2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup kick-off

2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup entry list

Car #TeamDriver 1Driver 2Car
1Belgian Audi Club Team WRTEnzo IdeChristopher MiesAudi R8 LMS
2Belgian Audi Club Team WRTWill StevensMarkus WinkelhockAudi R8 LMS
3Team WRTJake DennisPieter SchothorstAudi R8 LMS
5Belgian Audi Club Team WRTMarcel FässlerDries VanthoorAudi R8 LMS
7Bentley Team M-SportSteven KaneVincent AbrilBentley Continental GT3
8Bentley Team M-SportAndy SoucekMaxime SouletBentley Continental GT3
11Kessel RacingMichael BroniszewskiGiacomo PicciniFerrari 488 GT3
17Team WRTStuart LeonardRobin FrijnsAudi R8 LMS
19GRT Grasser Racing TeamEzequiel Perez CompancNorbert SiedlerLamborghini Huracan GT3
24Reiter Young StarsMarko HelistekangasCaitlin WoodLamborghini Reiter Gallardo R-EX
26Sainteloc RacingRomain MontiChristopher HaaseAudi R8 LMS
27Orange 1 Team LazarusFabrizio CrestaniGustavo YacamanLamborghini Huracan GT3
34Kornely MotorsportYoshi MoriKenneth HeyerMercedes-AMG GT3
39Kessel Racing TP12Piti BhirombhakdiCarlo Van DamFerrari 488 GT3
42Strakka MotorsportNick LeventisLewis WilliamsonMcLaren 650S GT3
44Strakka RacingJonny KaneLoris HezemansMcLaren 650S GT3
55Spirit Of RacenPhil QuaifeLorenzo CaseFerrari 488 GT3
58Strakka RacingAlvaro ParenteBen BarnicoatMcLaren 650S GT3n
59Strakka RacingRob BellAndrew WatsonMcLaren 650S GT3n
63GRT Grasser Racing TeamMirko BortolottiChristian EngelhartLamborghini Huracan GT3
66Attempto RacingMax van SplunterenAdrian ZauggLamborghini Huracan GT3
67Attempto RacingMarco MapelliGiovanni VenturiniLamborghini Huracan GT3
74ISRFrank StipplerKevin CecconAudi R8 LMS
75ISRFilip SalaquardaClemens SchmidAudi R8 LMS
84Mercedes-AMG Team HTP MotorsportMaxi BuhkFranck PereraMercedes-AMG GT3
85Mercedes-AMG Team HTP MotorsportJules SzymkowiaknFabian SchillerMercedes-AMG GT3
86Team HTP MotorsportDominik BaumannJimmy ErikssonMercedes-AMG GT3
87Akka ASPJean-Luc BeaubeliqueJules GounonMercedes-AMG GT3
88Akka ASPFelix SerrallesDaniel JuncadellanMercedes-AMG GT3
89Akka ASPChristophe BourretJean-Philippe BellocMercedes-AMG GT3
90Akka ASPMichael MeadowsRaffaele MarcielloMercedes-AMG GT3
98Rowe RacingPhilipp EngTom BlomqvistBMW M6 GT3
99Rowe RacingMarkus PalttalaJesse KrohnBMW M6 GT3
333Rinaldi RacingAlexander MatschullDaniel KeilwitzFerrari 488 GT3

Photo: blancpain-gt-series.com

Related Posts