European Touring Car Cup: Fulin and Schreiber share a glory at Monza

  • ETCC Monza, Fulin and Schreiber

Petr Fulín (Krenek Motorsport, Seat Leon Cup Racer) and Christjohannes Schreiber (Rikli Motorsport, Honda Civic) are the winners of two races in the season-opening round of the FIA European Touring Car Cup at Autodromo Nazionale Monza.

It’s interesting that the results of both races were decided after time-penalties were given to drivers who crossed the finish line as winners. In Race 1, two fastest drivers Christjohannes Schreiber and Peter Rikli were handed a five-second penalties which promoted Fulin to P1.

In Race 2, Peter Rikli won on the road but was handed a 10-second penalty for a track limits infringement on the opening lap, giving the win to his Honda-driving team-mate Schreiber.

Peter Rikli started from pole in the first race and remained in a lead until the last lap, when Schreiber passed him in the first turn. However, both Schreiber and Rikli were penalized, dropping to P2 and P3, behind Petr Fulin.

In the Race 2, the top eight finishers started on reversed grid, with Mladen Lalušić on pole. Schreiber, Rikli and Fulin were again a class of their own, capturing all three podium spots.


Related Posts