Formula Renault: Shwartzman and Fenestraz winners at Nürburgring

  • Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Nurburgring
  • Robert Shwartzman wins at Nurburgring
  • Robert Shwartzman wins at Nurburgring

Robert Shwartzman (R-ace GP) and Sacha Fenestraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) are the winners of two Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup races at Nürburgring. Both drivers scored their respective victories after starting from pole position.

The first 14-lap race on Saturday afternoon took place in normal conditions while the second race on Sunday morning was a wet race, with only five laps in proper speed with the rest of the race behind a Safety car.

Robert Shwartzman wins at Nurburgring

Top 3 drivers in Race 1

Robert Shwartzman won the Race 1 to score his fourth win of the season. The Russian was followed by teammate Max Defourny and Sacha Fenestraz. The best rookie and fourth overall was Red Bull Junior Daniel Ticktum (Arden Motorsport). With this win, Shwartzman retook the lead in the championship standings ahead of Will Palmer, who finished eighth in the first race.

The Race 2 started behind the Safety car, with Sacha Fenestraz leading in front of Daniel Ticktum and Max Defourny. After ten minutes of cruising, the cars had an opportunity to speed up but just for one lap. Multiple accidents caused Safety car intervention. One of the victims was Max Defourny, who spun on the track and lost his podium position.

After a restart, Fenestraz and Ticktum retained their positions. Robert Shwartzman progressed to P3 but he later dropped to P8. Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) reached the third place on a podium, ahead of Gabriel Aubry and Will Palmer.

Check the full results of FR 2.0 Eurocup races at Nürburgring


Related Posts