Kyle Kaiser is the 2017 Indy Lights champion

  • Kyle Kaiser, 2017 Indy Lights champion
  • Kyle Kaiser, 2017 Indy Lights champion

The 2017 Indy Lights season’s finale took part at the Watkins Glen International. Aaron Telitz (Belardi Auto Racing), who opened a season with a victory at St. Petersburg in March, closes a season by winning the race at The Glen but the main star of the event was Juncos Racing’s Kyle Kaiser who took the championship title.

Kaiser finished seventh in the last race of the season, securing a championship trophy with 20-point advantage over Santiago Urrutia (Belardi), who finished second at The Glen. Colton Herta (Andretti Steinbrenner Racing) completed a podium in the 16th race of the season, finishing third in the championship points. Herta is also the best rookie in the 2017 season.

“I never could have imagined this at age 7, getting into a kart for the first time. It has been an absolute dream. But it’s been a strange feeling today, because it wasn’t the best race. The championship never entered my mind during the race – I was just trying to manage the conditions. I think these were the trickiest conditions we’ve had all year. I tried pushing and that’s why I spun. But I just really wanted to bring the car home. We just won the Indy Lights championship and it’s time to celebrate. When I got to the podium and Dan Andersen, John Doonan and Chris Pantani were there to give me the champion’s trophy, I started to realize that it was real.

“I am so appreciative of my time on the Mazda Road to Indy. The new Indy Lights car has been a perfect transition. The experience I’ve gained these past three years, not rushing it or wanting to move up too soon has been so valuable. All the race experience will translate into IndyCar,” Kyle Kaiser said.

Check all the results of Indy Lights races


Related Posts