2017 Rally Sweden entry list - 46 crews ready for the unique WRC snow event

January 29, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • Rally Sweden, Colins Crest Arena
  • Rally Sweden is the only snow event in the World Rally Championship
  • 2017 Rally Sweden logo

After the 85th Rallye Monte-Carlo opened the 2017 World Rally Championship season, world’s best rally drivers are on their way to another special event on the WRC calendar. It’s Rally Sweden, the only snow event in the world’s premier rally competion for decades, since 1965, when Swedish rally was moved from its original summer date to winter.

For the 65th edition of Rally Sweden 46 crews are on the entry list. Of course, much of the interest is directed towards 2017-spec World Rally Cars which had thrilling premiere in the opening event at Monte-Carlo. Compared to the season’s first rally with ten ’17-spec WRC machines, one more such a car is announced for Sweden.

2017 Rally Sweden logo

46 crews are coming to the 2017 Rally Sweden

A new name on the list is Norwegian Mads Ostberg, who will run Ford Fiesta RS WRC for Adapta Motorsport, in cooperation with M-Sport World Rally Team. Other entries will be the same as in Monte-Carlo, with one exception in Citroen’s team.

Craig Breen will took over #8 C3 WRC for his debut with new car, Stephane Lefebvre will drive last year’s #15 DS3 WRC. It’s still unsure which car Henning Solberg will drive, as he’s listed with Ford Fiesta RS WRC, so it’s possible to get one more newest car on the starting line.

2017 Rally Sweden preview, Colin's Crest

Who will have the longest jump at Colin’s Crest

The competition in the WRC 2 championship goes a step further as fourteen crews announced participation, three more than in Monte-Carlo. M-Sport’s Eric Camilli and Teemu Suninen lead the pack with Fiesta R5s. Škoda Motorsport listed only Swedish driver Pontus Tidemand. One more Swedish driver in the WRC 2 category  would be Emil Bergkvist with Citroen DS3 R5.

From the other side of the border three strong Norwegians are coming: Ole Christian Veiby, Anders Grondal and Eyvind Brynildsen. From the Eastern Europe two Russians are coming and one Polish driver, while from the far East are coming two Japanese drivers who will drive Fiesta R5s for Tommi Makinen Racing.

2017 Rally Sweden preview

Swedish snow will host world’s best rally drivers

Among other drivers with R5 cars, who are not eligible for WRC 2 points, the most interesting entry is the second-placed driver in the 2016 World Rallycross Championship Johan Kristoffersson. His car would be Škoda Fabia R5. Kristoffersson participated last year at Rally Sweden, finishing 21st overall and 11th in RC2 class with Škoda Fabia S2000.

Rally Sweden will start with a shakedown in the morning hours of Thursday, February 9. In the evening, the real racing will start with SSS1 Karlstad. Rally consists of eighteen stages with total length of 331.74 kilometers.[/show_more]

2017 Rally Sweden entry list

NoTeamCarGr/ClassDriver / Co Driver
1M-Sport World Rally TeamFord Fiesta RS WRCWRCSebastien Ogier – Julien Ingrassia
2M-Sport World Rally TeamFord Fiesta RS WRCWRCOtt Tanak –Martin Jarveoja
3DMACK/M-Sport World Rally TeamFord Fiesta RS WRCWRCElfyn Evans – Daniel Barritt
4Hyundai MotorsportHyundai i20 Coupe WRCWRCHayden Paddon – John Kennard
5Hyundai MotorsportHyundai i20 Coupe WRCWRCThierry Neuville – Nicolas Gilsoul
6Hyundai MotorsportHyundai i20 Coupe WRCWRCDani Sordo – Marc Marti
7Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroën C3 WRCWRCKris Meeke – Paul Nagle
8Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroën C3 WRCWRCCraig Breen – Scott Martin
10Toyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota Yaris WRCWRCJari?Matti Latvala – Miikka Anttila
11Toyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota Yaris WRCWRCJuho Hanninen – Kaj Lindstrom
14Adapta/M-Sport World Rally TeamFord Fiesta WRCWRCMads Ostberg – Ola Floene
15Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroën DS3 WRCWRCStephane Lefebvre – Gabin Moreau
16Eurolamp World Rally TeamMini John Cooper WorksWRCValeriy Gorban – Sergei Larens
17Ford Fiesta RS WRCWRCHenning Solberg - TBA
31M-Sport World Rally Team Ford FiestaR5Teemu Suninen – Mikko Markkula
32Škoda MotorsportŠkoda FabiaR5Pontus Tidemand – Jonas Andersson
33Citroen DS3R5Pierre Louis Loubet – Vincent Landals
34PrintsportŠkoda FabiaR5Ole Christian Veiby - Stig Rune Skjaermoen
35Ford FiestaR5Anders Grondal – Roger Eilertsen
36Adapta MotorsportFord FiestaR5Eyvind Brynildsen – Anders Fredriksson
37FWRTFord Fiesta RS WRCWRCLorenzo Bertelli – Simone Scattolin
38C-RallyFord FiestaR5Jaroslaw Koltun – Ireneusz Pleskot
39Citroen DS3R5Emil Bergkvist – Joakim Sjoberg
40M-Sport World Rally TeamFord FiestaR5Eric Camilli – Benjamin Veillas
41TAIF MotorsportFord FiestaR5Radik Shaymiev  - Maxim Tsvetkov
42Ford FiestaR5Alexey Lukyanuk – Alexey Arnanutov
43Tommi Mäkinen RacingFord FiestaR5Takamoto Katsuta – Marko Salminen
44Tommi Mäkinen RacingFord FiestaR5Hiroki Arai – Glenn MacNeal
45Fergus GreensmithFord FiestaR5Gus Greensmith – Craig Parry
61Ford FiestaR2Louise Cook – Stefan Davis
81Škoda FabiaR5Jukka Ketomaki – Jarkko Alanen
82Ford FiestaR5Mattias Jirvellius – Henrik Appelskog
83Škoda FabiaR5Johan Kristoffersson - TBA
84Citroen DS3R5Simone Tempestini – Giovanni Bernacchini
85Ford FiestaR5Robert Blomberg – Lars Andersson
86Ford FiestaR5Fredrik Alsdal – Ida Bood
87Citroen DS3R5Joakim Roman – Christoffer Back
88Škoda FabiaR5Kjell Sandberg – Göran Lonnmark
89Peugeot 208 T16R5Jose Maria Lopez – Borja Rozada
90Škoda FabiaR5Federico Della Casa – Domenico Pozzi
91Citroen DS3R3Andreas Levin – Björn Nilsson
92Peugeot 208R2Taisko Lario – Sami Ryynanen
93Ford FiestaR2Oscar Solberg – Patrik Barth
94Ford FiestaR2Daniel Rojsel – Nicklas Edvardsson
95Ford FiestaR2Lasse Storm – Ulf Storm
96Peugeot 208R2Anders Aberg – Björn Johnsson

Check the full results

Photos: rallysweden.com,

Related Posts