V8 Supercars calendar grows to 16 events for 2018

October 4, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • V8 Supercars Championship
  • V8 Supercars Championship 2018 calendar

The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar has been revealed. Compared to this year’s calendar, two new rounds are added to form a 16-event schedule.

The additions are the support race at the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix, which was converted from the non-championship status to points-paying event, and The Bend SuperSprint in South Australia Tailem Bend, which will host the championship for the first time.

The championship will traditionally start with the Adelaide 500 in March and will conclude with the Newcastle 500 in November. The tenth round, the Sydney SuperSprint at Sydney Motorsport Park, will be contested under lights, as the first Supercars night race in Australia since 1997.

The Dunlop Super2 Series will race at seven Supercars events, with Adelaide followed by Symmons Plains, Barbagallo Raceway, Townsville, Sandown, Bathurst and Newcastle. That means the series returns to Western Australia after a one-year absence while Bathurst is also reinstated as a points round.

2018 V8 Supercars Championship calendar

Round EventRace trackLocationDate
1Adelaide 500Adelaide Street CircuitAdelaide, South AustraliaMarch 3-4
2Melbourne 400Melbourne GP CircuitMelbourne, VictoriaMarch 24-25
3Tasmania SuperSprintSymmons Plains RacewayLaunceston, TasmaniaApril 7-8
4Phillip Island 500Phillip Island GP CircuitPhillip Island, VictoriaApril 21-22
5Perth SuperSprintBarbagallo RacewayPerth, Western AustraliaMay 5-6
6Winton SuperSprintWinton Motor RacewayBenalla, VictoriaMay 19-20
7Darwin Triple CrownHidden Valley RacewayDarwin, Northern TerritoryJune 16-17
8Townsville 400Townsville Street CircuitTownsville, QueenslandJuly 7-8
9Ipswich SuperSprintQuensland RacewayIpswich, QueenslandJuly 21-22
10Sydney SuperNight 300Sydney Motorsport ParkEastern Creek, New South WalesAugust 3-4
11The Bend SuperSprintThe Bend Motorsport ParkTailem Bend, South AustraliaAugust 25-26
12Sandown 500Sandown RacewayMelbourne, VictoriaSeptember 15-16
13Bathurst 1000Mount Panorama CircuitBathurst, New South WalesOctober 6-7
14Gold Coast 600Surfers Paradise Street CircuitSurfers Paradise, QueenslandOctober 20-21
15Auckland SuperSprintPukekohe Park RacewayPukekohe, New ZealandNovember 3-4
16Newcastle 500Newcastle Street CircuitNewcastle, New South WalesNovember 24-25

Photos: browntrout.com.au,

Related Posts