2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship preview and entry list

February 27, 2018
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • 2018 V8 Supercars drivers
  • V8 Supercars Championship
  • V8 Supercars

The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship will kick-off this weekend at Adelaide Street Circuit. Twenty-six drivers are entering the season.

The championship season, which will end with Newcastle 500 event on November 24-25, features 16 events with 31 races, expanding from fourteen to sixteen venues.

The Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, which hosted the non-championship round since 1996, is now included in the championship with the same 4-race format. The completely new venue on the VASC calendar is the Bend Motorsport Park in Tailem Bend, South Australia. The event would be known as the Bend SuperSprint.

2018 V8 Supercars Championship calendar

Round EventRace trackLocationDate
1Adelaide 500Adelaide Street CircuitAdelaide, South AustraliaMarch 3-4
2Melbourne 400Melbourne GP CircuitMelbourne, VictoriaMarch 24-25
3Tasmania SuperSprintSymmons Plains RacewayLaunceston, TasmaniaApril 7-8
4Phillip Island 500Phillip Island GP CircuitPhillip Island, VictoriaApril 21-22
5Perth SuperSprintBarbagallo RacewayPerth, Western AustraliaMay 5-6
6Winton SuperSprintWinton Motor RacewayBenalla, VictoriaMay 19-20
7Darwin Triple CrownHidden Valley RacewayDarwin, Northern TerritoryJune 16-17
8Townsville 400Townsville Street CircuitTownsville, QueenslandJuly 7-8
9Ipswich SuperSprintQuensland RacewayIpswich, QueenslandJuly 21-22
10Sydney SuperNight 300Sydney Motorsport ParkEastern Creek, New South WalesAugust 3-4
11The Bend SuperSprintThe Bend Motorsport ParkTailem Bend, South AustraliaAugust 25-26
12Sandown 500Sandown RacewayMelbourne, VictoriaSeptember 15-16
13Bathurst 1000Mount Panorama CircuitBathurst, New South WalesOctober 6-7
14Gold Coast 600Surfers Paradise Street CircuitSurfers Paradise, QueenslandOctober 20-21
15Auckland SuperSprintPukekohe Park RacewayPukekohe, New ZealandNovember 3-4
16Newcastle 500Newcastle Street CircuitNewcastle, New South WalesNovember 24-25
Jamie Whincup, 2017 Supercars champion

The seven-time champion Jamie Whincup will drive the #1 Holden in 2018

No changes in two best teams

There are lots of changes among the teams and drivers. Two best-placed squads from the previous championship, DJR Team Penske (Ford) and Triple Eight Race Engineering (Holden), retain the same line-up of drivers who took the first four places in the last year’s championship (Jamie Whincup, Scott McLaughlin, Fabian Coulthard and Shane van Gisbergen).

Prodrive Racing Australia changed its name to Tickford Racing and announced four Ford Falcons, three for ‘old drivers’ (Mark Winterbottom, Cameron Waters, Chaz Mostert) and one for rookie Richie Stanaway. As we already published, Walkinshaw Racing was rebranded as Walkinshaw Andretti United, retaining Scott Pye and James Courtney as drivers in their Holdens.

2018 Supercars rookies: Anton de Pasquale, Todd Hazelwood, Richie Stanaway, James Golding and Jack Le Brocq

2018 Supercars rookies: Anton de Pasquale, Todd Hazelwood, Richie Stanaway, James Golding and Jack Le Brocq

Super2 champion will lead five rookies

Two more teams will run Ford Falcons. Matt Stone Racing will switch from Super2 Series to Supercars Championship, together with 2017 Super2 champion Todd Hazelwood who will fight for Rookie of the Year honors in 2018.

Another new team in the VASC is the 23Red Racing, established after Phil Munday bought 60% stake of Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport. The team would run the #230 Ford for Will Davison, who left Tekno Autosports.

2018 Supercars Championship preview

Fourteen Holdens, eight Fords and four Nissans will race in 2018 Supercars seasons

As a replacement for Davison, Tekno Autosports hired rookie Jack Le Brocq. Two more rookies are James Golding in the #34 Wilson Security GRM Holden and Anton de Pasquale in the #99 Erebus Motorsport Holden.

Nissan Motorsport will run four Altimas, retaining Rick Kelly, Michael Caruso and Simona de Silvestro. The #7 Nissan will be driven by Andre Heimgartner as a replacement for retired Todd Kelly.

2018 V8 Supercars Championship entry list

Manufacturer/Car modelOperating teamSponsor/Team nameCar numberDriver
Holden ZB CommodoreTriple Eight Race EngineeringRed Bull Holden Racing Team1Jamie Whincup
Triple Eight Race EngineeringRed Bull Holden Racing Team97Shane Van Gisbergen
Triple Eight Race EngineeringAutobarn Lowndes Racing888Craig Lowndes
Walkinshaw Andretti UnitedMobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing2Scott Pye
Walkinshaw Andretti UnitedMobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing25James Courtney
Brad Jones RacingBlackwoods and Freightliner8Nick Percat
Brad Jones RacingBlackwoods and Freightliner14Tim Slade
Erebus Motorsport 9David Reynolds
Erebus Motorsport 99Anton de Pasquale
Charlie Schwerkolt RacingPreston Hire Racing18Lee Holdsworth
Tekno Autosports19Jack Le Brocq
Tim Blanchard RacingCoolDrive Racing21Tim Blanchard
Garry Rogers MotorsportWilson Security Racing33Garth Tander
Garry Rogers MotorsportWilson Security Racing34James Golding
Ford FG X FalconTickford RacingThe Bottle-O Racing5Mark Winterbottom
Tickford RacingMonster Energy Racing6Cameron Waters
Tickford RacingSupercheap Auto Racing55Chaz Mostert
Tickford RacingSupercheap Auto Racing56Richie Stanaway
DJR Team PenskeShell V-Power Racing12Fabian Coulthard
DJR Team PenskeShell V-Power Racing17Scott McLaughlin
Matt Stone RacingBigmate Racing35Todd Hazelwood
23Red RacingMilwaukee Racing230Will Davison
Nissan Altima L33Nissan Motorsport7Andre Heimgartner
Nissan Motorsport15Rick Kelly
Nissan Motorsport23Michael Caruso
Nissan MotorsportTeam Harvey Norman78Simona de Silvestro

Photos: Supercars,

Related Posts