2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship preview and entry list

  • FIA F3 Championship car
  • FIA F3 Championship car

The FIA Formula 3 Championship will kick-off this weekend at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, marking the beginning of a new era in the global open-wheel racing business.

The new championship has been born as a result of a merger between the GP3 Series and FIA Formula 3 European Championship, becoming a part of the FIA Global Pathway from Karting to Formula One.

Dallara F3 2019 chassis

Dallara F3 2019 chassis

The new championship will feature new cars, introducing Dallara F3 2019 chassis powered by 380hp 3.4-litre V6 naturally-aspirated Mecachrome engine.  Same as F1 and F2 cars, FIA Formula 3 will introduce the ‘halo’ cockpit protection system.

Same as former GP3 Series, the FIA F3 Championship would serve as a part of the supporting programme at Formula 1 Grand Prix weekends. The schedule of races is similar to 2018 GP3 Series calendar with an exception of skipping the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix to allow F3 drivers to compete at the prestigious Macau Grand Prix.

Following the season-opening round in Spain, there will be races at Circuit Paul Ricard, Red Bull Ring, Silverstone, Hungaroring, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Monza and Sochi Autodrom. The season’s finale in Russia is scheduled for September 29.

Formula 3 test

FIA F3 Championship had three pre-season tests

The thirty-driver grid features ten teams with three drivers each. The entrants are selected both from GP3 Series and FIA F3 European Championship. Both teams that took championship titles in former competitions, Prema Powerteam and ART Grand Prix, are in. The other entrants are MP Motorsport, Sauber Junior Team by Charouz, HWA Racelab, Jenzer Motorsport, Trident, Hitech Grand Prix, Campos Racing and Carlin.

Both champions from 2018, Mick Schumacher (F3) and Anthoine Hubert (F3), progressed to the FIA Formula 2 Championship, same as some other front-runner, but many of last year’s drivers in the third-tier competitions will fight again in the same level of open-wheel racing.

Here’s the entry list for the 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship season:

Team Car numberDriver
ART Grand Prix1David Beckmann
ART Grand Prix2Max Fewtrell
ART Grand Prix3Christian Lundgaard
MP Motorsport4Liam Lawson
MP Motorsport5Simo Laaksonen
MP Motorsport6Richard Verschoor
Sauber Junior Team by Charouz7Lirim Zendeli
Sauber Junior Team by Charouz8Fabio Scherer
Sauber Junior Team by Charouz9Raoul Hyman
HWA Racelab10Bent Viscaal
HWA Racelab11Jake Hughes
HWA Racelab12Keyvan Andres
Jenzer Motorsport14Yuki Tsunoda
Jenzer Motorsport15Artem Petrov
Jenzer Motorsport16Andreas Estner
Trident17Devlin DeFrancesco
Trident18Pedro Piquet
Trident19Niko Kari
Hitech Grand Prix20Leonardo Pulcini
Hitech Grand Prix21Juri Vips
Hitech Grand Prix22Ye Yifei
Campos Racing23Alex Peroni
Campos Racing24Alessio Deledda
Campos Racing25Sebastian Fernandez
Prema Racing26Marcus Armstrong
Prema Racing27Jehan Daruvala
Prema Racing28Robert Shwartzman
Carlin Buzz Racing29Teppei Natori
Carlin Buzz Racing30Felipe Drugovich
Carlin Buzz Racing31Logan Sargeant

Photos: FIA Formula 3,

Related Posts