29 endurance racing heroes are new inductees into the FIA Hall of Fame

December 2, 2019
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • FIA Hall of Fame 2019 ceremony Jean Todt Jacky Ickx
  • FIA Hall of Fame
  • FIA Hall of Fame
  • FIA Hall of Fame
  • FIA Hall of Fame

Twenty-nine different champions from the World Endurance Championship have been inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame today at ceremony at the Automobile Club de France located in the heart of Paris  They join the 33 Formula 1 and 17 World Rally Champions who were recognised in the previous two editions.

The FIA Hall of Fame was launched in 2017 with the FIA Formula One World Champions as the inaugural inductees. Then, in 2018, rally champions were inducted. Today, the FIA Hall of Fame is celebrating nearly 40 years of outstanding achievements in the field of endurance racing, a discipline that relies on courage, passion and teamwork, which is the hallmark of one of the greatest sporting events in world, and the centrepiece of the current FIA World Endurance Championship, the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

FIA Hall of Fame logo

The FIA Hall of Fame was launched in 2018

FIA President Jean Todt said: “Endurance racing occupies a special place in the history of motorsport as well as in my heart, and the legendary 24 hours of Le Mans is a major event on the WEC Calendar. Even though the discipline has evolved significantly over the years, the passion remains intact. I do look forward to the Hypercar’s arrival in September 2020 that will mark a turning point in the Championship’s life. It is therefore my greatest pleasure to inaugurate 29 FIA WEC title-winners in the FIA Hall of Fame, which is growing with a new discipline joining those that have been previously celebrated: Formula 1 and the World Rally Championship.”

Here are the names of new inductees: Fernando Alonso, Mauro Baldi, Earl Bamber, Derek Bell, Stefan Bellof, Timo Bernhard, Raul Boesel, Martin Brundle, Sebastien Buemi, Yannick Dalmas, Anthony Davidson, Romain Dumas, Loic Duval, Teo Fabi, Marcel Fassler, Bob Garretson, Brendon Hartley, Jacky Ickx, Neel Jani, Tom Kristensen, Marc Lieb, Andre Lotterer, Allan McNish, Kazuki Nakajima, Jean-Louis Schlesser, Hans-Joachim Stuck, Benoit Treluyer, Derek Warwick and Mark Webber.

FIA Hall of Fame endurance

World endurance champions as new Hall of Famers

Photos: FIA,

Related Posts