Harvick's victory closed NASCAR regular season, now it's time for the Playoffs

  • 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs grid
  • Kevin Harvick Brickyard400

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular season has been closed with the Brickyard 400 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. In the 26th race of the season, the victory went to Kevin Harvick (Stewart-Haas Racing). It’s was his third win of the season and 48th Cup Series victory in a career.

Harvick finished the regular season fifth in the points, behind Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing), Denny Hamlin (Joe Gibbs Racing), Martin Truex Jr. (Joe Gibbs Racing) and Joey Logano (Team Penske).

Kyle Busch

Kyle Busch ended the regular season in the first place

Sixteen drivers will continue the season as championship contenders through the Playoffs. Clint Bowyer (Stewart-Haas Racing) and Ryan Newman (Roush Fenway Racing)  secured the last two places for the Playoffs, putting Daniel Suarez and Jimmie Johnson out from the title chase.

The other candidates that will fight for the title are Brad Keselowski (Team Penske), Chase Elliott (Hendrick Motorsports), Kurt Busch (Chip Ganassi Racing), Kyle Larson (Chip Ganassi Racing), Alex Bowman (Hendrick Motorsports), Erik Jones (Joe Gibbs Racing), Ryan Blaney (Team Penske), William Byron (Hendrick Motorsports) and Aric Almirola (Stewart-Haas Racing).

The first race in the Round of 16 of the Playoffs would be the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 15.

Check the results of the Brickyard 400

Photos: NASCAR

Related Posts