Monza, Kyalami are set to enter FIA WEC calendar for the first time

December 12, 2019
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • FIA WEC 2020-2021 calendar

The 2020-2021 FIA World Endurance Championship provisional calendar has been announced today, featuring eight rounds, including two new events at Monza and Kyalami for the first time.

The other venues would be Silverstone, Fuji, Bahrain, Sebring, Spa and Le Mans. Six and eight-hour races will feature ahead of the season finale, the 24 Hours of Le Mans, in June 2021.

The provisional calendar will be presented to the FIA Endurance Commission and will be submitted to the FIA World Motor Sport Council for approval in March 2020.

FIA WEC calendar 2020-2021

The provisional calendar for the 2020-2021 FIA WEC season

Gérard Neveu, CEO of the WEC said: “When you have a list which includes Silverstone, Monza, Fuji, Bahrain, Kyalami, Sebring, Spa and, of course, Le Mans, you are at the heart of endurance racing’s history and heritage, its present and its future. The calendar is also great for our logistical road map as it provides our teams with the most cost-effective package possible. We hope this Season 9 schedule will make our competitors and fans very happy.”

Pierre Fillon, President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) commented: “What better way to usher in the new era of Le Mans Hypercars than with this excellent 2020-21 calendar. Reflecting an ever-evolving automotive industry, the WEC continues to present automotive manufacturers with an ideal showcase for their products, and even more so as we look towards the future and the introduction of different renewable energy platforms.”

2020-2021 FIA World Endurance Championship Provisional Calendar:

31 Aug/01 Sep 2020: pre-Season Test Silverstone (Great Britain)
05 September 2020: 6 Hours of Silverstone (Great Britain)
04 October 2020: 6 Hours of Monza (Italy)
01 November 2020: 6 Hours of Fuji (Japan)
05 December 2020: 8 Hours of Bahrain (Bahrain)
06 February 2021: 6 Hours of Kyalami (South Africa)
19 March 2021: 1000 Miles of Sebring (8 hours) (USA)
24 April 2021: 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
12-13 June 2021: 24 Hours of Le Mans (France)

Photos: FIA WEC,

Related Posts