FIA World Rallycross Championship goes electric from 2020

  • FIA World Rallycross Championship logo
  • FIA World Rallycross Championship logo

The FIA World Motor Sport Council approved a plan to make a switch from combustion engines to electric-powered race cars in the World Rallycross Championship from season 2020. According to that decision, the championship would be renamed to FIA Electric World Rallycross Championship.

The sporting format of the events, 12 to 14 per season, will remain identical to the current World RX format, with practice, four qualifying heats, two semi-finals and one final. The entries will be reserved for two-car teams. Two World Championships will be contested: one for Drivers and one for Manufacturers. The award for private teams would be the Team Trophy.

FIA also proposed general prescriptions for Technical Regulations of the new championship. Four-wheel drive ‘Silhouette-type’ cars would be in use, with two electric motors (one front and one rear) supplying power output of 500kW.

All competitors will use the common battery and a common chassis. Private companies may homologate their own cars, on the condition that they use the common battery and chassis, and design their bodywork from a generic car model required by the FIA. Williams has been designated as Single Battery Supplier for four seasons, from 2020 to 2023. In the same time, Oreca will be the Single Chassis Supplier.


Related Posts