Matt Kenseth wins for the third time at the Magic Mile

  • Matt Kenseth, New Hampshire 301

Matt Kenseth scores his second season’s victory and third career victory at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway. After starting 18th, he managed to win the New Hampshire 301 crossing the finish line at the Magic Mile’s 1.058-mile oval with 1.982sec gap over Tony Stewart. Stewart beats Joey Logano in the close fight for the runner-up spot and secured his position in the top 30 of the Sprint Cup standings, and therefore in the Chase.

Neither Kenseth, Stewart and Logano were in the contention for the win earlier in the race. Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. led for 256 of 301 laps (Busch 133, Truex 123) while Kenseth was in front for 38 laps. He took the lead for the last time on lap 271 and survived three more restarts to securely took the win.

Kevin Harvick, Greg Biffle, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Ricky Stenhouse Jr took the position from P4 to P10. Martin Truex Jr, after leading 123 laps, broke his shifter and with only fourth gear he finished 16th. The poleman Jimmie Johnson came home 12th.

Check the full results of the New Hampshire 301


Affiliate Disclosure: Pages on this site may include affiliate links to Amazon and its affiliate sites on which the owner of this website make a referral commission.

Related Posts