Verstappen wins Mexican Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton is a champion

  • Max Verstappen wins Mexican Grand Prix
  • Max Verstappen Mexican Grand Prix
  • Max Verstappen Mexican Grand Prix
  • Lewis Hamilton

Max Verstappen wins the Mexican Grand Prix, scoring his third Formula 1 victory in a career. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) finished the race in the ninth place but secured the championship title, his fourth in a career. With two more races on a calendar, he had uncatchable advantage of 56 points over Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari).

The 20-year-old Dutchman in the #33 Red Bull made a brave move at the start, attacking polesitter Sebastian Vettel in turn 1 and taking the lead. Hamilton also passed Vettel but their contact damaged a front wing on Vettel’s car and punctured rear-right tyre on Hamilton’s car. Both driver pitted on the opening lap, dropping to the back of the field.

Mexican Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel

Hamilton and Vettel had a contact on lap 1

Vettel was progressing all the way to the fourth place, but it wasn’t enough to cut a gap behind Hamilton to less than 50 points. Hamilton didn’t manage to find a rhytm in the first part of the race, so he was even overlapped by Verstappen on lap 23. Later he progressed to P9, earning two points.

Verstappen won the race ahead of Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) and Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari). Vettel was fourth, ahead of Esteban Ocon (Force India). Lance Stroll (Williams), Sergio Perez (Force India), Kevin Magnussen (Haas) and Fernando Alonso (McLaren) also scored points.

Check the full results of the Mexican Grand Prix

Photos: Mercedes AMG F1, Red Bull Racing,

Related Posts