Formula 2: Norman Nato wins exciting Sprint race in Baku

  • Norman Nato Formula 2017 Baku

The Pertamina Arden driver Norman Nato won the FIA Formula 2 Championship Sprint race at Baku City Circuit what is his maiden win in the series.

Ralph Boschung started from pole position in the second race of the weekend but he lost the lead to Oliver Rowland after Turn 1. Norman Nato and Nicholas Latifi on lap also overtook Boschung while yesterday’s race winner Charles Leclerc dropped from P8 to P10.

Nyck De Vries was the one who also did a great job. The Dutch driver of Rapax team on lap 6 moved up to the 3rd position, behind Rowland and Nato. Unfortunately, in the following lap Rowland’s car stopped and he retired from the race. Soon after, De Vries’ car also stopped at Turn 3, so Nato was promoted to the race leader, with Latifi, Jordan King, and Leclerc behind him.

2017 Formula 2 Baku

Detail from the Formula 2 race in Baku

The championship leader was flying around the track and Leclerc easily overtook his rivals for P2, but leader Nato was well ahead of the Monegasque driver. However, Leclerc reduced the gap from lap to lap and finally took the lead on lap 17 but at the same time he has received a 10-second penalty for failing to slow under the yellow flags.

Leclerc was the one who took the chequered flag, but Nato was the one who won the race. Leclerc had to settle for the 2nd place while Latifi for the second race in a row finished 3rd.

Click here for the full results

The next round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship is scheduled for July 8-9 at Red Bull Ring, Austria.


Related Posts