2017 GP3 Series season preview

May 11, 2017
Alexander S

  • 2017 GP3 Series

The 2017 GP3 Series kicks-off this weekend at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya and in the new season we will see many new talents.

Reduced number of rounds and teams

This will be the 8th edition of the championship that provides a good opportunity for young, upcoming drivers which are dreaming about joining the Formula 1. In 2017 there will be a plenty of new drivers but the number of teams decreased after Koiranen GP left the series, so just six teams, including the defending champions ART Grand Prix, will be on the grid.

Niko Kari GP3 Series

Niko Kari is one of the rookies in the series

The number of races is also reduced from 9 to 8. Races at Hockenheim and Sepang are removed from the calendar while Jerez Circuit will make its debut in GP3 Series. Probably the biggest change for the new season is the introduction of DRS to allow drivers to achieve a higher top speed and make overtaking easier.

2017 GP3 Series calendar

Race 1 & Race 2May 13-14Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Race 3 & Race 4July 8-9Red Bull Ring
Race 5 & Race 6July 15-16Silverstone Circuit
Race 7 & Race 8July 29-30Hungaroring
Race 9 & Race 10August 26-27Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps
Race 11 & Race 12September 2-3Autodromo Nazionale Monza
Race 13 & Race 14October 7-8Circuito de Jerez
Race 15 & Race 16November 25-26Yas Marina Circuit

10 new names on the entry list

The new drivers in the series are Anthoine Hubert, George Russell, Marcos Siebert, Niko Kari, Bruno Baptista, Julien Falchero, Leonardo Pulcini, Ryan Tveter, Raoul Hyman, and Dorian Boccolacci, while four drivers changed the teams.

Tatiana Calderon DAMS 2017 GP3 Series

Tatiana Calderon moved from Arden to DAMS

Tatiana Calderon moved from Arden International to DAMS, Steijn Schothorst who raced for Campos Racing switched to Arden International, Kevin Jorg moved from DAMS to Trident, and Jack Aitken, who is considered to be a title contender this year, signed with ART Grand Prix after racing for Arden International in the previous season.

2017 GP3 Series entry list

Car #DriverNationalityTeam
1Jack AitkenUnited KIngdomART Grand Prix
2Nirei FukuzumiJapanART Grand Prix
3George RussellUnited KingdomART Grand Prix
4Anthoine HubertFranceART Grand Prix
5Niko KariFinlandArden International
6Leonardo PulciniItalyArden International
7Steijn SchothorstNetherlandsArden International
8TBA-Arden International
9Kevin JoergSwitzerlandTrident
10 Giuliano AlesiFranceTrident
11Ryan TveterUSATrident
12Dorian BoccolacciFranceTrident
14Santino FerrucciUSADAMS
15Tatiana CalderonColombiaDAMS
16Bruno BaptistaBrazilDAMS
22Alessio LorandiItalyJenzer Motorsport
23TBA-Jenzer Motorsport
24Arjun MainiIndiaJenzer Motorsport
25TBA-Jenzer Motorsport
26Julien FalcheroFranceCampos Racing
27Raoul HymanSouth AfricaCampos Racing
28Marcos SiebertArgentinaCampos Racing
29TBA-Campos Racing

Photo: gp3series.com

Related Posts