Kaz Grala becomes the youngest ever winner at Daytona

February 25, 2017
Event Reports, News
Ian McLeigh

  • Kaz Grala, Truck Series race winner at Daytona
  • Kaz Grala, Truck Series race winner at Daytona
  • Kaz Grala, Truck Series race winner at Daytona

Kaz Grala wins the NextEra Energy Resources 250 NASCAR Truck Series race at Daytona International Speedway on Friday night, becoming the youngest ever race winner at Daytona. Grala is 18 years, 1 month and 26 days old. Prior to winning the season-opening race, Grala also became the youngest NASCAR national series pole position winner.

NASCAR Truck Series, Daytona

Matt Crafton in the air

Grala survived a Big One in the last lap

In the 100-lap race, divided into three stages (20+20+60 laps), a winner was decided by the last lap Big One, ignited by Ben Rhodes who spun from the outside lane on the backstretch into the bumper of Grant Enfinger. After that, the melee started. The leading drivers Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton were also involved. Miraculously, Grala avoided any contact and slipped through a wild wreck into the lead.

Austin Wayne Self took the runner-up spot, followed by Chase Briscoe, and the son-father combination of John Hunter Nemechek and Joe Nemechek in fourth and fifth. Johnny Sauter, the defending Truck Series champion, was classified in the 15th place but he collected two playoff points for winning both the first and second stages, each lasting 20 laps. The race winner Grala earned five playoff points.

Check full results of NextEra Energy Resources 250

Photos: Getty Images/nascar.com,

Related Posts