WTCC Race of Argentina - Wins for Ehrlacher and Michelisz

  • Yann Ehrlacher RC Motorsport

Yann Ehrlacher and Norbert Michelisz are the winners of the FIA World Touring Cars Championship Race of Argentina at Termas de Rio Hondo circuit.

Opening Race

Tom Chilton took the chequered flag in the first race of the weekend but Yann Ehrlacher in the Lada Vesta of RC Motorsport was the winner after Chilton was penalized for the move that gave him the lead. Ehrlacher started from the reverse pole position but lost the lead to the Sebastien Loeb Racing driver who tapped him for the lead.

Because of his 5-seconds penalty Chilton was pulled back to the fourth at the end of the race while his teammate Mehdi Bennani and local hero Esteban Guerrieri in the Campos Racing Chevrolet was promoted to the 2nd and 3rd position respectively. Championship leader Tiago Monteiro in Honda Civic had to settle for the 5th place in the first race in Argentina and Thed Bjork in Volvo finished 6th.

Yann Ehrlacher podium argentina wtcc

Yann Ehrlacher scored his maiden WTCC victory

Main Race

Nick Catsburg and Norbert Michelisz occupied the front row in the second race of the day with Tiago Monteiro and Esteban Guerrieri behind them. The only change after the start was that Thed Bjork moved up to P4.

Norbert Michelisz Honda 2017 WTCC

Honda driver Michelisz in Argentina scored second win of the season

Catsburg comfortably led the race before he had to retire on lap 8 because of puncture. Michelisz now was at the top, chased by Monteiro and Bjork, while the others were well behind. The same standings remained until the end, so the Hungarian in Honda scored his second win of the season. Monteiro strengthened his lead to Bjork in the standings to 10 points.

Click here for the full results of the WTCC Race of Argentina

The next round on the FIA WTCC calendar is Race of China at Ningbo International Circuit on 15th of October.


Related Posts