Marrakesh e Prix: Second win and championship lead for Rosenqvist

  • Felix Rosenqvist Formula E Marrakesh
  • Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing, Formula E

Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing) wins the Marrakesh ePrix, the third race of the 2017-2018 FIA Formula E Championship. It’s his second win this season after he won the previous race in Hong Kong and the third Formula E victory in a career.

The Swedish driver started from third place on the grid, behind Sebastien Buemi (Renault e.dams) and Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing). Rosenqvist progressed to P2 on lap 16, overtaking Bird two laps before they made a mandatory car-change.  Then, he was chasing Buemi until lap 29 when he made a victorious move, securing not only race victory but also a lead in the championship. Buemi and Bird completed a podium.

Felix Rosenqvist Formula E Marrakesh

Felix Rosenqvist scored his second win in the 2017/2018 Formula E season at Marrakesh

Nelson Piquet Jr (Jaguar Racing) finished fourth, ahead of Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) and Jose Maria Lopez (Dragon Racing). Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra) finished seventh after he survived a contact with Venturi drivers Maro Engel and Edoardo Mortara on the penultimate lap.

Mortara was forced to retire while Engel received a time penalty because of earlier collision with Luca Filippi (NIO). That promoted Tom Blomqvist (Andretti) to the eighth place in his first ever Formula E race. Nico Prost (Renault) and Alex Lynn (DS Virgin) completed the Top 10.

Check the full results of the Marrakesh ePrix

The next race on the Formula E calendar is the first ever Santiago ePrix in Chile on February 3.

Photos: Michelin Motorsport,

Related Posts