Jamie Whincup wins in Tasmania, SVG is still the championship leader

  • Jamie Whincup wins Race 1 of the 2018 Tasmania SuperSprint at Symmons Plains Raceway
  • Jamie Whincup #1 Holden Commodore

Jamie Whincup takes his second win of the season in the opening race of the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint today at Symmons Plains Raceway. It’s the third round of the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship with one more race scheduled for tomorrow.

Whincup’s #1 Holden ZB Commodore crossed the finish line with 2.3 seconds advantage ahead of the #888 Holden of Craig Lowndes, who broke a year-long podium drought. James Courtney brings the #25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Holden to the third place.

Tasmania SuperSprint Race 1 winner Jamie Whincup

Tasmania SuperSprint Race 1 winner Jamie Whincup

Shane van Gisbergen started the 120km race from pole position but finished sixth, behind David Reynolds in P4 and Fabian Coulthard in P5. However, SVG stays the championship leader after seven races, ahead of Reynolds and Whincup.

Shane van Gisbergen lost a lead to Whincup through the pit stops. After that, he lost four more positions during the race while struggling with tyre degradation.

Check the full results of the Tasmania SuperSprint Race 1

Photos: supercars.com,

Related Posts