Supercars Championship: Nobody can't stop Ford Mustangs

  • Supercars Phillip Island Race 1
  • Supercars Phillip Island Scott McLaughlin winner

DJR Team Penske continues domination in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship with its Ford Mustang GT, taking two more victories at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in the fourth round of the season, increasing the number to eight wins in ten races in 2019. In both races of the Phillip Island SuperSprint event, Shell V-Power Fords took the first two places.

On Saturday, Scott McLaughlin scored his seventh win of the season in the #17 Ford Mustang, beating the teammate in the #12 car. The day later, Fabian Coulthard took his first win of the season, sharing the podium with his teammate.

Supercars Phillip Island Race 2 podium

Podium celebration after the second race

The other two men on the podium were Andre Heimgartner (#7 Kelly Racing Nissan Altima) on Saturday and Anton de Pasquale (#99 Erebus Motorsport Holden Commodore) on Sunday. For the 23-year-old De Pasquale, it’s his maiden Supercars podium. Andre Heimgartner climbed to a podium for the second time in a career.

After ten races, Scott McLaughlin has a massive lead in the championship with 1058 points on his account, 124 points more than Fabian Coulthard. Chaz Mostert is further 119 points down in the third place, with Shane van Gisbergen and David Reynolds completing the top 5.

The next Supercars event is the Perth SuperNight at Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway, scheduled for May 3-4.

Anton de Pasquale celebrates his maiden Supercars podium

Anton de Pasquale celebrates his maiden Supercars podium

Check the full results of the Phillip Island SuperSprint

Photos: Supercars,

Related Posts