Abu Dhabi, Spa-Francorchamps added to the World RX calendar

October 26, 2018
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • FIA World Rallycross Championship, Johan Kristoffersson
  • FIA World Rallycross Championship
  • World RX Supercars

The 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship calendar has been revealed, with eleven events at four continents. There will be one event less than in 2018 but the championship is expanding to new territories, adding Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina Circuit as the first World RX venue in Asia.

Another new venue would be the iconic Spa-Francorchamps, replacing Mettet as a host of the Belgian round. Two more genuine rallycross tracks are out from the calendar – Montalegre in Portugal and Estering in Germany.

The season will begin in Abu Dhabi. The rallycross track at Yas Marina Circuit will utilise part of the distinctive Formula 1 circuit integrated into a challenging new layout. The similar plan exists for Spa-Francorchamps, wishing to incorporate one of the most renowned corners Eau Rouge into the rallycross track.

World RX Managing Director for IMG, Paul Bellamy, said: “We are delighted to reveal World RX’s provisional 2019 calendar. A tremendous amount of hard work has gone on behind-the-scenes to put together what we believe is a perfect blend of rallycross tradition and exciting new venues to truly challenge competitors and thrill fans. We are firmly focused on the future of the World Championship, and are confident that next season will mark another major step forward in the growth of rallycross’ biggest international series.”

2019 Worlx RX calendar

The map of the 2019 World RX calendar

2019 World RX Calendar:

1.   Abu Dhabi – Yas Marina – 5/6 April
2.    Spain – Barcelona – 27/28 April
3.    Belgium – Spa-Francorchamps – 11/12 May
4.    Great Britain – Silverstone – 25/26 May
5.   Norway – Hell – 15/16 June
6.    Sweden – Höljes – 6/7 July
7.    Canada – Trois-Rivières – 3/4 August
8.    France – Lohéac – 31 August/1 September
9.    Latvia – Riga – 14/15 September
10.   USA – Austin – 28/29 September
10.  South Africa – Cape Town – 30 November/1 December

The FIA European Rallycross Championship has been revealed too, expanded from five to six rounds. Five rounds will take place during World RX events (GB, Norway, Sweden, France, Latvia) plus one standalone event at Germany’s Estering.

Estering Buxtehude

Estering dropped out from World RX but it will host the standaloen ERX event

Photo: fiaworldrallycross.com,

Related Posts