36 full-time entries announced for the 2019 Euro RX season

  • European Rallycross Championship

The list of full-time entries for the 2019 FIA European Rallycross Championship season has been released today. Thirteen drivers from eight nations were announced in the Supercar class while twenty-three drivers from eleven nationalities will fight for the championship title in the Super 1600 class.

Additionally, there are a number of drivers who have already lodged round-by-round entries for various events during the six-round season. The five rounds of each class will be in support of the FIA World Rallycross Championship while the sixth round for both classes would be a stand-alone event at Germany’s Estering.

Robin Larsson was the European rallycross champion back in 2014

Robin Larsson was the European rallycross champion back in 2014

The list of Supercar drivers features several experienced rallycross stars that have a lot of World RX events, even victories, in their CVs. The first of them is Robin Larsson, the 2014 Euro RX Supercar champion and winner of the World RX of Argentina in 2015. The Swede will compete for JC Raceteknik in an ex-EKS Audi S1.

The Frenchman Jean-Baptiste Dubourg, who most recently won his fourth consecutive Andros Trophy title and was fifth in the Euro RX standings last year, returns in a Peugeot 208, same as his younger brother Andrea. Both will drive for their family’s team DA Racing.

The ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport will have two Seat Ibiza Supercars in the championship, one for team boss Rene Münnich and another for German compatriot Mandie August, the only female driver on the grid.

Euro RX Supercars entry list

Thirteen drivers are on the list for Supercar class

Peter Hedstrom, a multiple Swedish Rallycross champion, will drive a VW Polo alongside fellow-Swede Daniel Thoren for Hedstrom Motorsport. Mikko Ikonen will be the only driver from Finland, where he was a runner-up last year. He will drive Ford Fiesta which took Reinis Nitiss to the Euro RX Supercar title in 2018.

Two Hungarians on the grid will be Attila Mozer, who makes the switch from Audi to a Peugeot 208 for Nyriad Motorsport, and Tamas Karai who will drive an Audi A1 for his own team. The next entrant is Czech driver Ales Fucik who will drive a Volkswagen Polo for Czech team KRTZ Motorsport. Lithuania will be represented by Paulius Pleskovas in a Ford Fiesta while British flag will be on a Ford Fiesta of Mike Manning.

In the Super 1600 class, last year’s vice-champion Aydar Nuriev from Russia will return to the championship with Volland Racing’s Audi A1. He would be the main favourite after last year’s champion Rokas Baciuska graduated to the World Rallycross Championship.

The Euro RX calendar features eight events, four with both classes represented, two just for Supercars and two just for S1600 cars.

Photos: World RX,

Related Posts