Di Grassi wins dramatic Putrajaya ePrix

  • Lucas di Grassi Formula E

Lucas di Grassi is the winner of the Formula E Putrajaya ePrix. Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport driver secured first victory in the season in front of DS Virgin Racing driver Sam Bird, who started from 14th, while Robin Frijns (Andretti Formula E) finished third, even after accident he had in the late stage of the race.


Sebastien Buemi (e.dams Renault), winner of the opening race of the season in Beijing, had pole position, and was followed by Stephane Sarazzin, Loic Duval, Antonio Felix da Costa and Nico Prost, but they failed to finish at podium.


Sebastien Buemi Putrajaya Formula E


This was quite tricky and definitely dramatic race with unexpected outcome. Sarazzin was imoved out as his car failed to start. On the back of the grid we could see accident whicj involved Jacques Villeneuve, Jean-Eric Vergne and Nick Heidfeld.


Looked like Buemi will have easy job as he was in comfortable lead, but in lap 15, he suffered problems with software, while his teammate Prost had to change the two laps earlier than it was planned due to overheating.


That’s why he had to save power and soon lost provisional leading position. In lap 24 di Grassi took the lead in front of da Costa, bur Portuguese driver of Aguri team retired in lap 26 because of technical problems.


Dragon Racing drivers Duval and Jerome D’Ambrosio then were on the good way to claim podium finish. But, Duval in hit the wall in lap 30, while Belgian D’Ambrosio in the last lap also retired after losing control of his car.


OLiver Turvey


That was nice gift for Sam Bird who finished second and especially for Frijns who finished third despite hitting the wall in lap 30 and damaging his car badly.


Sarazzin finished fourth what was excellent as missed the start of the race, Bruno Senna was fifth and Felix da Costa sixth. Daniel Abt was sixth, reigning champion Nelson Piquet scored points finishing eighth, while Nick Heidfeld in Mahindra was ninth. Interestingly Prost also scored finishing tenth.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!


Photo: fiaformulae.com

Related Posts