ETCC titles for Kajaia, Matejovsky, Borkovic and Mackschin

FIA European Touring Car Cup season’s finale took place at Autodromo Pergusa (Sicily, Italy) this weekend. We got new champions in four classes, some of them after the first race and other after a thrilling second race. Davit Kajaia is champion of Super TC2T class, Michael Matejovsky triumphed in Super TC2 class, Niklas Mackschin celebrated in Super 1600 class and Dušan Borković was the best in Single Make Trophy.


The most tense situation was in SMT class, in which Borković won the title with just three points advantage over Petr Fulin. Czech driver won the first race after dramatic 11-lap counter ahead Davit Kajaia and Franz Engstler in Liqui Moly BMWs. Dušan Borković, who started from pole, had a spectacular crash in Lap 2. He limped back to the pits and his mechanics made a heroic repair. They prepared his #98 Seat Leon Cup Racer for Race 2, in which Borković finished 13th overall and 4th in Single Make Trophy, It was enough to secure points for championship title.


Overall winner of Race 2 was Franz Engstler, ahead Kajaia and Fulin. Kajaia secured the first ever title for a driver from Georgia, with a big gap ahead of Turkish driver Aytec Biter. In TC2, class Peter Rikli (Honda Civic) was the fastest in both races, ahead of Michal Matejovsky in Krenek Motorsport’s BMW 320. Matejovsky won the title with 17 points more than Rikli.  In S1600 class Niklas Mackschin and Gillers Bruckner shared victories at Pergusa, but Mackschin won the title with a 45-point gap.




Related Posts