Supercars: Jamie Whincup takes the Larry Perkins Trophy

  • Jamie Whincup wins Larry Perkins Trophy, 2018

David Reynolds (Erebus Motorsport) is the fourth different winner in four races of the Melbourne 400 event, the second round of the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship. Reynolds brought his #9 Holden ZB Commodore to the fifth win of a career, beating Nick Percat (Brad Jones Racing) and Jamie Whincup (Red Bull Holden).

The reigning champion Jamie Whincup collected most points over the weekend to secure the Larry Perkins Trophy, a new award for the Melbourne Supercars round which is a part of the championship for the first time.

David Reynolds wins Race 4 of 2018 Melbourne 400

David Reynolds wins Race 4 of 2018 Melbourne 400

Jamie Whincup started from pole in the fourth race, losing two positions on the opening lap, first to David Reynolds in Turn 1 and one more place to Nick Percat in Turn 3. Their positions remained unchanged until the end of the race after 11 laps.

The Safety Car came out on Lap 8 when James Golding’s Holden stopped on track.The full course yellow lasted for three laps, leaving just one racing lap before the time cut-off.

Chaz Mostert and Scott Pye started from P4 and P5, ending the race in that positions. Scott McLaughlin improved from ninth to sixth, ahead of teammate Fabian Coulthard. Michael Caruso, Garth Tander and Will Davison rounded out the top 10.

David Reynolds, Melbourne 400

David Reynolds is fourth winner in four races at Albert Park

Championship leader Shane van Gisbergen finished 13th in Race 4 but maintains his position on the top of the Supercars Championship standings. After six races, he has 486 points, 49 more than David Reynolds. Scott McLaughlin is third with 425 points.

Check the full results of the Melbourne 400

The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship will resume with the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint at Symmons Plains Raceway on April 6-8.

Photos: Supercars,

Related Posts