Webber, Hartley and Bernhard are 2015 FIA WEC champions

  • 2015 FIA WEC champions, Webber, Hartley and Bernhard

Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard, drivers of #17 Porsche 919 Hybrid, became the 2015 FIA World Endurance Drivers’ Champions after a thrilling last race of the season at Bahrain Internation Circuit today. They finished the race in fifth position after recovering from early technical problems which dropped them from leading position to the back of the field.


They lost many laps in the pits and after recovering they finished with nine laps behind victorious crew in sister car #18. Today’s victory for Neel Jani, Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas was crucial in a championship fight, because they prevented from winning the crew of #7 Audi. Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer finished second, a minute and a half behind winners, so they remained a five points behind Webber/Hartley/Bernhard in the provisional championship standings.


In the last race of the career Alexander Wurz in #2 Toyota TS040 Hybrid scored third place, together with Mike Conway and Stephane Sarrazin.




In the LPM2 class #26 G-Drive Ligier of Sam Bird, Roman Rusinov and Julien Canal took the titles in both the LMP2 Drivers’ and Team’s championships. Sam Bird overtook Nick Tandy’s KCMG Oreca in the closing stages to confirm a fourth win of the season for G-Drive. The LMP1 Privateers class saw a clear victory for #13 Rebellion Racing R-One-AER of Dominik Kraihamer and Alexandre Imperatori.


The LMGTE Pro class was won by #92 Porsche Team Manthey’s Frederic Makowiecki and Patrick Pilet with Porsche 911 RSR. Their team-mate Richard Lietz became the champion in the FIA World Endurance Cup for GT Drivers, as he finished fifth in class together with Michael Christensen in Porsche #91.


LMGTE Am class winners are Pedro Lamy, Paul Dalla Lana and Mathias Lauda in #98 Aston Martin Vantage, after a late race battle with both #88 Abu Dhabi Proton Porsche and #77 Dempsey Proton Porsche. SMP Racing’s Ferrari 458 Italia, crewed by Victor Shaytar, Aleksey Basov and Andrea Bertolini finished fifth in class to collect enough points to take the class titles.


Related Posts