World RX: Hansen and Solberg shared the victories at Barcelona

Timmy Hansen is on the top of intermediate standings of World RX event again, for the fifth time in a row. Driver of Peugeot-Hansen’s 208 WRX collected the most points after two qualifying heats on the first day of Barcelona RX, tenth round of World Rallycross Championship. Hansen was fastest in both Saturday’s heat, but he was penalized after Heat 2 for taking a cut in the first corner, so the victory went to Petter Solberg.


EKS RX chief and driver Mattias Ekström holds the second place in the intermediate standings, ahead of Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen Team Sweden) and Petter Solberg. Olsbergs MSE’s drivers Reinis Nitiss and Andreas Bakkerud are fifth and sixth respectively. Other drivers who take up positions from 7th to 12th are Robin Larsson, Toppi Heikkinen, Davy Jeanney, Tord Linnerud, Timur Timerzyanov and Anton Marklund. Twelve drivers will qualify for Semifinals after two more heats tomorrow. First under the line is Tanner Foust, but Henning Solberg and Liam Doran are very close, so all of them can hope for a good result tomorrow.




World RX debutant, two-time DTM Champion Timo Scheider, had a day of mixed fortunes.  In the first heat he retired after a contact with Ramona Karlsson. He recovered in Heat 2 and finished 11th quickest. It was a similar story for Tanner Foust who failed to finish heat one. He returned on flying form for the second heat, however, to post the fourth fastest time.


Event which takes place at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is also the penultimate round of European Rallycross Championship. Tommy Rustad in the Marklund Motorsport VW Polo is the leader after the first day, with his main rival Jerome Grosset-Janin on 10th place, after retiring in Heat 2.


In the S1600 category Frenchman Andrea Dubourg leads the way after winning two out of three heats. Krisztian Szabo is second, with current S1600 points leader Janis Baumanis third. Norway’s Thomas Bryntesson is leading the RX Lites Cup after the first three heats.  Swede Kevin Eriksson is second and Frenchman Cyril Raymond is placed third.



Related Posts