World RX: Toomas 'Toppi' Heikkinen winner at Mettet RX

Finnish rallycross driver Toomas ‘Toppi’ Heikkinen wins Ladbrokes World RX of Belgium, third round of World Rallycross Championship. Driver of Marklund Motorsport’s Volkswagen Polo RX was fastest among six drivers in Supercar final, in front of reigning world champion Norwegian Petter Solberg (SD RX, Citroen DS3) and Latvian Reinis Nitiss (Olsbergs MSE, Ford Fiesta).


It was Heikkinen’s second win at Circuit Jules Tacheny at Mettet because he won last year too. Other drivers in final run were PG Andersson (Marklund, VW), Andreas Bakkerud (Olsbergs, Ford) and Mattias Ekstrom (EKS RX, Audi S1). DTM star Ekstrom was one of the favourites, because of fantastic performance before final race, but he retired in battle for podium because of damaged car.




Total od 37 supercars competed at Mettet, 17 of them entried the Euro RX competition. Winner of Euro RX Supercar finale is Jerome Grosset-Janin (Peugeot 208), in front of Ole-Christian Veiby (VW Polo) and Tamas Karai (Škoda Fabia).

In the supporting categories, Latvian Janis Baumanis (Renault Twingo) wins Super1600 and Norwegian Fredrik Magnussen (Ford Fiesta) wins TouringCars final race.




In championship standings leader is Petter Solberg with 82 points, second is Johan Kristoffersson with 60 points. Following drivers are Heikkinen (57), Bakkerud (56), Hansen (50), Nitiss (43), PG Andersson (43), Jeanney (39), Ekstrom (37)…

Best team is SDRX with 102 points, two more than Marklund Motorsport and three more than Olsbergs MSE.


Next championship round is scheluded for next weekend at Lydden Hill (UK).


Affiliate Disclosure: Pages on this site may include affiliate links to Amazon and its affiliate sites on which the owner of this website make a referral commission.

Related Posts