V8 Supercars: Shane Van Gisbergen wins Clipsal 500's first race

  • Shane van Gisbergen, Clipsal 500
  • Shane van Gisbergen, Clipsal 500
  • Shane van Gisbergen, Clipsal 500

Defending V8 Supercars champion Shane Van Gisbergen (Red Bull Holden Racing Team) wins the Saturday’s race of the Clipsal 500 at Adelaide Street Circuit, the opening event of the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship. Fabian Coulthard (DJR Team Penske) and James Courtney (Walkinshaw Racing/Mobil 1 HSV Racing) completed a podium after a 78-lap race at 3,220 meters long circuit.

Fabian Coulthard, Clipsal 500

Fabian Coulthard stole the lead on Lap 1 but finished second behind Van Gisbergen

Van Gisbergen, who started from pole in his #97 Holden, for much of the race was fighting against Fabian Coulthard in the #12 Ford, who stole the lead on the first lap. Van Gisbergen was back in front after a clean second pit stop, increasing a gap in closing laps to more than ten seconds.

Cameron Waters was the best Prodrive Racing’s driver, finishing in the fourth place. Rick Kelly crossed a finish line in the fifth place as the best of four Nissan Motorsport’s entries. Jamie Whincup, Nick Percat, Craig Lowndes, Chaz Mostert and James Moffat completed the Top 10.

One more 78-lap race is scheduled for Sunday.

Check the full results of Clipsal 500

Photos: Edge Photographics, supercars.com,

Related Posts