Convincing victory of di Grassi in Berlin

Lucas di Grassi is the winner of the Formula E DHL Berlin ePrix held on Saturday at former Tempelhof Airport. Audi Sport Abt team driver won after very convincing performance and maintaned his overall standings lead.

Jarno Trulli had a pole position leaving Lucas di Grassi on second and last race winner Sebastien Buemi on third place, but Brazilian took the lead after Turn 2 when Italian driver went too wide. In the middle of the grid, second Audi Sport Abt team driver, Daniel Abt slided out of the track and went wrong way, but managed to go back and continue the race.

After five laps di Grassi had advantage of almost seven seconds in fromt of Buemi who passed over Trulli using FanBoost. That was very bad moment for Trulli who immediatelly went down to sixth as Heidfeld, D’Ambrosio and Liuzzi outpaced him.  Those three were in exciting battle for second with Buemi but nothing spectacular had happened before change of the cars in lap 17.

berlin-tempelhof-formula_e< Nelson Piquet Jr. remained on the track one more lap, as well as Charles Pic, but that didn’t proved as a perfect decision as di Grassi kept his lead followed by D’Ambrosio, Buemi and Heidfeld which contnued their battle for the places at podium.

Nelson Piquet moved slowly from ninth to sixth after pitstop, while Loic Duval shoot ahead of Heidfeld n fourth four laps before the end. Di Grassi was on the good way to the second victory in the season with an advantage of almost eight seconds and saved his advantage until the end.

As a second finished Jerome D’Ambrosio (Dragon Racng) and last place at podium won Sebastien Buemi (eDams Renault). Loic Duval (Dragon Racing) finished fourth, fifth was Nelson Piquet Jr. (NEXTEV TCR), while Jarno Trulli had to retire, as well as Bruno Senna and Salvador Duran.

Related Posts