WRC: Citroen confirms Meeke, Breen and Lefebvre until 2018

October 5, 2016
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • Citroen Racing, WRC, Craig Breen, Kris Meeke, Stephane Lefebvre

Citroën Racing announces the crews that will be competing for the team in the next two seasons of the FIA World Rally Championship with all-new Citroen C3 WRC, which was unveiled few days ago at Paris Motor Show. In a fact, Citroen confirms all the crews from the current season.

Already confirmed to drive for the team until 2018, Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle will be joined by Craig Breen/Scott Martin and Stephane Lefebvre/Gabin Moreau. Abu Dhabi Racing chief Sheikh Khalid Al Qassimi would also compete at selected events in 2017, partnered by his co-driver Chris Patterson.

Citroen Racing, WRC Finland, Meeke, Breen

Meeke will have a leading role, Breen and Lefebvre will alternate driving duties

Two drivers will have their debut with a new car at 2017 Rallye Monte-Carlo (January 16-22). At the start of the season, the team will enter one car for Meeke and the other for either Breen or Lefebvre, who will alternate driving duties. The exact schedule of events for each driver will be announced at a later stage. Citroën announces that it will start entering three cars as soon as possible. At some rounds, a fourth Citroën C3 WRC will also be entered for Al Qassimi. The FIA’s World Motorsport Council recently decided it would let manufacturers enter three cars, the top two scoring points for the Manufacturers World Championship.

All four drivers are currently involved in the development of the new car. At the same time, they are expecting two more events this season with DS3 WRC – Rally Catalunya (Meeke, Breen, Al-Qassimi) and Wales Rally GB (Meeke, Breen, Lefebvre).

Photo: Citroen Racing, wrc.com

Related Posts