BTCC at Rockingham: Two wins for Subaru, one victory for BMW

  • BTCC Rockingham, Subaru Ashley Sutton

James Cole (Team BMR), Ashley Sutton (Team BMR) and Andrew Jordan (BMW Pirtek Racing) are the race winners in three British Touring Car Championship races at Rockingham Motor Speedway. For Cole, it’s his maiden BTCC victory in a career while his Subaru teammate Ashley Sutton celebrated sixth win this season. Andrew Jordan climbed to the top podium spot for third time this season.

Maiden BTCC win for James Cole

Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s James Cole surprised everybody by taking a pole position on Saturday and then he converted front row start into his maiden BTCC victory in Sunday’s first race. Cole’s #20 Subaru Levorg GT blasted away from pole position, building a significant gap ahead of fellow front row starter Jack Goff in the Eurotech Racing’s Honda  Civic Type R. On the final lap, Ash Sutton attacked Goff to secure 1-2 victory for Subaru.

Josh Cook (MG) finished fourth, ahead of Honda’s Matt Neal and BMW’s Colin Turkington. Mat Jackson (Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo, Ford), Adam Morgan (Ciceley Motorsport, Mercedes), Josh Price (Subaru) and Jason Plato (Subaru) completed the top 10. Title protagonists Tom Ingram, Gordon Shedden and Rob Collard failed to score points.

James Cole celebrates his maiden BTCC win

James Cole celebrates his maiden BTCC win

Sixth season’s win for Ash Sutton

Subaru star Ash Sutton took the victory in the second race, extending his lead in the championship standings. Following second place in the first race, he started from the front row next to James Cole and took the lead on the opening lap. Cole run wide onto the grass later in the same lap, dropping down the order. Sutton took command and won the race unchallenged by anybody.

Mat Jackson finished in the second place, beating Colin Turkington by three tenths of a second. Jason Plato was fourth, finishing ahead of Jack Goff. Adam Morgan, BMW duo Andrew Jordan and Rob Collard, Tom Ingram (Toyota) and Chris Smiley (Chevrolet) completed the top 10.

Andrew Jordan’s third win in 2017

In the Race 3, Andrew Jordan scored his third win of the season in the #77 Pirtek Racing’s BMW 125i M Sport. After seventeen laps, he crossed the finish line with comfortable advantage of 1.724 seconds ahead of Adam Morgan in the #33 Ciceley Motorsport’s Mercedes A-Class.

Jason Plato concluded a good weekend for Team BMW and Adrian Flux Subaru Racing by taking one more podium for the team. He finished third, two places ahead of his younger teammate Ashley Sutton, who remained in the championship lead.

After 24 races, Sutton collected twelve points more than Colin Turkington. The next championship round is scheduled for September 17 at Silverstone Circuit.

Check the full results of BTCC races at Rockingham


Related Posts