More than 150 cars on entry list for the 2017 Nurburgring 24h

May 23, 2017
Featured, News
Alexander S

  • Nurburgring 24h 2017

More than 150 cars and many famous names are on the entry list for the 2017 Nurburgring 24 Hours race which will be held this weekend at legendary circuit.

The ADAC Zurich 24-Hour Race, what is the official name of one of the most important endurance events in the world, will be held for the 44th time. The first race around the 25 km long combination of Nordschleife and Grand Prix Circuit was held in 1970 when the winners were Hans-Joachim Stuck and Clemens Schickentanz in BMW 2002 TI.

2017 Nurburgring 24h

BMW and Porsche are the most successful manufacturers

The most successful so far are…

Since then, many legendary drivers participated in the 24-hour race in the Eifel Mountains. The most successful drivers so far are Timo Bernhard, Pedro Lamy, and Marcel Tiemann as they have 5 wins on their accounts. Romain Dumas, Marc Lieb, Fritz Muller, Marc Duez, and Peter Zakowski won on four occasions, while 3-time winners are Hans-Joachim Stuck, Klaus Ludwig, and Herbert Hechler.

BMW is the most successful manufacturer so far with 19 victories. Porsche scored 11 overall wins at Nurburgring, while Ford has 5 wins but the last one was back in 1987. The winner of 2016 race that was shortened due to bad weather conditions was Black Falcon’s Mercedes-AMG GT3 with Maro Engel, Bernd Schneider, Manuel Metzger, and Adam Christodoulou as drivers.

Nurburgring Nordschleife night

Racing at Notorious ‘Green Hell’ could be both exciting and dangerous

Busy schedule

Qualifying for the race will go on Thursday and Friday The start of probably the most demanding 24-hour race in the world is scheduled for Saturday, 27th of May, at 15:30 CET. It is expected that around 200.000 spectators will gather at Nurburgring-Nordschleife and over the weekend they also will have an opportunity to watch the FIA WTCC round, as well as ETCC and Audi Sport TT races.

Related Posts