V8 Supercars: Shane van Gisbergen reaches third season's win at Winton

  • Shane van Gisbergen, Winton SuperSprint
  • Shane van Gisbergen, Winton SuperSprint

Shane van Gisbergen (Red Bull Holden) scores his third win of the V8 Supercars season today at Winton Motor Speedway. SVG wins the Sunday’s race of the Winton SuperSprint ahead of his teammate Jamie Whincup and DJR Team Penske’s Fabian Coulthard. For reigning champion Van Gisbergen, it’s his 23rd V8 Supercars victory in a career. In the championship standings for 2017, Coulthard stayed in the lead, followed by Whincup and Scott McLaughlin.

Shane van Gisbergen, Winton SuperSprint

SVG’s celebrational burnout at Winton

Shane van Gisbergen’s victory was in a fact a gift from Jamie Whincup, who made a mistake while leading, running wide onto the main straight 11 laps from the end and dropping to P2. With this victory, SVG broke a winning streak of DJR Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin, who won three races in a row.

McLaughlin started from pole again, for the sixth time this season, finishing fifth at the end, behind Cameron Waters. Garth Tander, Dave Reynolds, Chaz Mostert, Will Davison and Lee Holdsworth completed the top 10.

Check the full results of Winton SuperSprint

Fabian Coulthard lead the championship standings with 1060 points, just four more than Jamie Whincup. Scott McLaughlin is third with 1032 points on his account, nine more than Shane van Gisbergen in the fourth place. Chaz Moster is far behind in the fifth place with 861 points.

The next race is schedule for June 17-18. It would be the Darwin Triple Crown at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Photos: supercars.com,

Related Posts