Formula E: Lucas di Grassi gives the third win in a row to Audi in Mexico

  • Formula E, Mexico City ePrix, Lucas di Grassi
  • Formula E, Mexico City ePrix, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, Lucas di Grassi, Daniel Abt

Lucas di Grassi wins the Mexico City ePrix, the fourth round of the 2018-2019 FIA Formula E Championship. He gives the third Mexican win in a row to Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler after his previous win in 2017 and Daniel Abt’s triumph in 2018.

It’s the ninth Formula E victory in a career for Di Grassi which places him to the fourth place in the current championship standings with 34 points. The other three winners from three races are in front – Jerome d’Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing) leads the championship with 53 points, Antonio Felix da Costa (BMW i Andretti Autosport)  is second with 46 points while Sam Bird (Virgin Racin) is third with 45 points.

Formula E, Mexico City E-Prix 2019

Lucas di Grassi, Antonio Felix da Costa and Edoardo Mortara on a podium

After 45 laps at Mexico City’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Lucas di Grassi took the victory in a photo-finish against Pascal Wehrlein, who left without energy in last meters. However, Wehrlein received post-race five-second penalty and dropped to P6. Di Grassi shared a podium with Antonio Felix da Costa and Edoardo Mortara (Venturi). Jerome d’Ambrosio finished the race in the fourth place to retain the lead in the championship ahead of two Asian rounds in Hong Kong and Sanya in March.

The other drivers who took points in Mexico with Top 10 finish are Andre Lotterer (5th, Techeetah), Pascal Wehrlein (6th, Mahindra), Mitch Evans (7th, Jaguar), Felipe Massa (8th, Venturi), Sam Bird (9th, Virgin) and Daniel Abt (10th, Audi). Twenty-two drivers participated in the race in which Brazilian Felipe Nasr made his Formula E debut with Geox Dragon Racing as a replacement for Maximilian Gunther.

Formula E, Mexico City E-Prix 2019

Audi clinched third win in a row at Mexico ePrix

Check the full results of the Mexico City ePrix

Photos: Audi,

Related Posts