Lucas di Grassi wins the historic Zürich ePrix

  • Lucas di Grassi wins Zurich ePrix
  • Lucas di Grassi wins Zurich ePrix

The defending Formula E champion Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) scored his first victory of the season today at Zürich ePrix, the tenth round of the 2017-2018 FIA Formula E Championship, in the historic first race in Switzerland since 1954.

The Brazilian scored his seventh Formula E victory in a career ahead of Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing) and Jerome d’Ambrosio (Dragon Racing) in a thrilling race in which an order was reshuffled with drive-through penalties for some leading drivers because they were too fast under full course yellow (FCY).

One of those who was penalized was the championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah), who ended the race in the tenth place and earned at least one point. His championship lead has been reduced from 40 to 23 points ahead of Sam Bird. With two more races in the season-closing double-header round at New York, only Vergne and Bird can take 2018 championship title.

The other point-scorers today were Andre Lotterer (4th, Techeetah), Sebastien Buemi (5th, Renault d.dams), Nick Heidfeld (6th, Mahindra), Mitch Evans (7th, Jaguar), Antonio Felix da Costa (8th, Andretti) and Oliver Turvey (9th, NIO).

Check the full results of the Zürich ePrix

Photos: Audi,

Related Posts