Scott Dixon matched Michael Andretti on the all-time list with 42nd win

  • Scott Dixon IndyCar Detroit Grand Prix

Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing) wins the first race of IndyCar Detroit Grand Prix at Belle Isle circuit, scoring his 42nd IndyCar victory in a career  and equaling Michael Andretti on the all-time winners list.

It’s interesting that Dixon, to achieve that, had to defeat three drivers in Michael Andretti’s cars – Ryan-Hunter Reay, Alexander Rossi and Marco Andretti. Takuma Sato (RLL Racing) and Ed Jones (Chip Ganassi) finished fifth and sixth respectivelly, making it the clean sweep for Honda. The best Chevrolet driver was Team Penske’s Will Power in the seventh place.

Detroit Grand Prix, Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon’s #9 Honda

Scott Dixon previously won at Detroit in 2012. Today’s victory is his first in 2018 and it puts him to the second place in the championship standings, behind Alexander Rossi. Rossi has 276 points, four more than Dixon.

Both will have a new opportunity to score points on Sunday on the same race track, in the second part of the Detroit Grand Prix double-header event.

Check the full results of the IndyCar Detroit Grand Prix

Photos: Chip Ganassi Racing,

Related Posts