BTCC: Shedden, Plato and Morgan got the champaign at Truxton

Three drivers and three manufacturers shared equal happiness for winning in the Truxton event of Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship. Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa Racing) in Honda Civic  won Race 1, Jason Plato (Team BMR) in Volkswagen CC was the fastest in Race 2 and Adam Morgan (Wix Racing) in Mercedes-Benz A-Class took was victorious in Race 3.

Shedden was dominant in the opening race, continuing the success story of the Japanese manufacturer on the fastest circuit in the country. His victory is the eighth victory for Honda in the last nine races at Truxton.

Right from the start, Shedden and his teammate tok a substantial lead over pole-sitter Aron Smith in Team BMR’s Volkswagen CC and stayed in front of the pack till the very end. Adam Morgan secured third place at the podium.


Honda’s dominant reign came to an end in Race 2 with Jason Plato’s winning run. He fought against Rob Collard (West Surrey Racing) in BMW 125i M Sport and won with a difference of just 0.442 seconds. This was Plato’s 90th BTCC victory. Shedden completed the podium to score valuable points for leading the championship standings.

Adam Morgan took his first real BTCC career victory in the final race. He won last year at the Brands Hatch, but only after stewards punished Plato. So, in effect, the first place at Truxton is his first victory as a  champaign.

Morgan started from pole position and his leading place wasn’t threatened. Andrew Jordan (Triple Eight Racing) in MG6 GT was second and Sam Tordoff (West Surrey Racing) in BMW 125i M Sport on third scored his first podium with a new team.


In the championship standings, five former champions occupied the top five positions. Shedden led Colin Turkington by eight points, with Matt Neal, Jason Plato and Andrew Jordan next up in the order. Honda holds the advantage from reigning title holders MG in the Manufacturers/Constructors Championship while Team BMR maintains its lead in the Teams’ standings. Rounds 10, 11 and 12 will take place at Oulton Park in Hampshire in four weeks time (6/7 June).

Related Posts