BTCC - Silverstone: Andy Priaulx wins Race 2

Andy Priaulx (West Surrey Racing) waited two months to score his second season’s victory in 2015 British Touring Car Championship. After a victorious race at Croft two months ago Priaulx was the fastest at Silverstone today. He won ahead of Jack Goff (Triple Eight Racing) and Aron Smith (Team BMR). Priaulx deserved this win after a great move against polesitter Mat Jackson in Lap 8. Seven laps later Jackson dropped in the order and pitted because of a tire puncture. That promoted Goff and Smith to the podium.


“It’s my 50th win and I’m so delighted it’s in a BMW. The start was good. Mat was defending well but Mat made a mistake through Copse. I had to jink left but I just about made the move stick. Then I knew I couldn’t afford to make a mistake so I got my head down. That’s what makes the BTCC so great – it’s a fight from start-to-finish,” said Andy Priaulx.




Another puncture victim was Andrew Jordan (Triple Eight Racing), who lost his fourth position in the last lap. Current championship leader Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa Racing) was behind Jordan and he finished fourth. Shedden increased the gap in the championship standings ahead of Jason Plato (Team BMR), who finished seventh. Between them Matt Neal (Honda Yuasa) finished fifth and Sam Tordoff (West Surrey Racing) was sixth. Rob Collard (West Surrey Racing) and James Cole (Motorbase Performance) rounded the Top 10. Cole’s best ever result in the BTCC was further rewarded as he will start the Race 3 from pole position, due to reversed grid.


Adam Morgan’s Mercedes took 11th from Josh Cook, Tom Ingram and Aiden Moffat. Cook and Ingram made contact several times on-track but Cook was later penalised for an incident with Moffat. He was handed a three-second penalty by the Clerk of the Course and was subsequently classified behind both Ingram and Moffat.


Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.



Related Posts